Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!

Digest (Nov. 14): Harford Community College wins in national women's soccer tournament

Alexandria Adams scored with 4:33 remaining to propel Harford Community College to a 2-1 victory over Cloud County (Kan.) in pool play at the National Junior College Athletic Association Division I women's soccer tournament in Melbournce, Fla., on Tuesday. Rachel Bohli's goal gave the Owls a 1-0 lead midway through the second half before Cloud's Abigail Conway tied it with 10:38 remaining to set up Adams' dramatic score. Harford (18-1) plays national powerhouse Tyler Junior College from Tyler, Texas today at 12:30 p.m. The No. 2-ranked Apaches are 21-1 this season.

Women's college cross country: Johns Hopkins junior Ellie Clawson was named the USTFCCCA Mideast Region Athlete of the Year and coach Bobby Van Allen earned Mideast Region Women's Coach of the Year. Clawson led the Blue Jays to their 10th straight NCAA Mideast Regional Championship with a first-place time of 21 minutes, 17.8 seconds. Johns Hopkins will race for its fifth NCAA national championship team title Saturday 1 p.m. at Principia College in Elsha, Ill.

Golden Arm Award: The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award candidates have been reduced to five of the country's top quarterbacks. Remaining candidates are: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State; Ryan Finley, North Carolina State; Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma; Trace McSorley, Penn State; and Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State. The Golden Arm Award is presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation's top college quarterback, based on accomplishments both on and off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class. The award will be presented at a ceremony Dec. 8 at The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand. Proceeds from the event help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. The Foundation provides financial assistance to underprivileged and scholar-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

College football: Bowie State had 18 players named to the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association football teams. Gene Carson II was named the conference's outsanding specials teams players. Bulldogs on the first team were: Victor Tamba Jr., Bryan Redmond, Brandon Britton, Amir Hall, Robert Chesson, Carson, Derrick Tate, Sean Copeland, Rahman Kamara and William Flowers. Second-team members were: Diontae Jordan, Daris Johnson, Lansana Sesay, Johnny Littlejohn and Lawrence Forbes. Honorable mention went to Marquise Watts, Oluwaleke Ajenifuja and Kyle Jackson.



From Sun staff and news services

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad