Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!

Blast storms back on road to defeat Heat, 24-13

The Blast was down 9-2 on Friday night. Was the wakeup call answered?

The Blast rallied from a 9-2 first-quarter deficit to defeat the host Harrisburg Heat, 24-13, on Friday night and improve its Major Arena Soccer League record to 17-2. The Blast, which got back into the game with six unanswered points in the second quarter, was led on the night by Vini Dantas, who had four goals, and Jonathan Melo and Drew Ruggles, who had two each. Goalkeeper Phil Saunders (UMBC, Perry Hall) had eight saves and improved his record to 3-0. The Blast will play its regular-season finale Sunday at Rochester.


JHU men have three on Tewaaraton list

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced Thursday night the 50 players on the Tewaaraton Award watch list, and three Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse players were named. Junior attackman Ryan Brown (Calvert Hall), senior long-stick midfielder Michael Pellegrino and senior attackman Wells Stanwick (Boys' Latin) are on the list. Maryland, Loyola Maryland and Towson each have one player on the list. The Terps are represented by senior faceoff specialist Charlie Raffa, the Greyhounds by senior attackman Nikko Pontrello and the Tigers by redshirt senior midfielder Andrew Hodgson. Other players on the list with ties to the Baltimore area are Tufts senior attackman Cole Bailey (Severn), Duke junior midfielder Deemer Class (Loyola Blakefield), Virginia senior midfielder Ryan Tucker (Gilman) and Bryant junior goalkeeper Gunnar Waldt (St. Paul's). Bailey is the only Division III player on the list. Notre Dame and Syracuse lead all schools with four players each. North Carolina and Virginia are also represented by three players each. The Tewaaraton Award is annually given to the top player in college lacrosse.

Edward Lee

Football: Morgan State named Mike Fanoga defensive coordinator. Fanoga, who spent last season as defensive coordinator at Division II Virginia Union, is entering his 28th season of coaching college football, including stops at Division I Wyoming (2009-2011) and Division II Lane (2011) and Benedict (2012-13).

Men's swimming: Frostburg State freshman swimmer Zach Shattuck of Mount Airy broke three American Paralympic records at the Capital Athletic Conference championship last weekend. Shattuck, who has dwarfism and stands 4 feet 6, won the 50-yard freestyle in the Paralympic S6 class in 29.60 seconds, took the 200-yard freestyle in 2 minutes, 30.23 seconds and was first in the 500-yard freestyle in 6:53.90.

Men's basketball: Hood senior guard Chris Cook was named Commonwealth Conference Player of the Year. He's the first Blazer to win a conference athlete of the year award in any men's sport and the first in any sport since Jessica Parrish in women's track and field in the Capital Athletic Conference in 2009.

Et cetera

Sagamore Racing's Daring Dancer honored by Md. Horse Breeders

The Maryland Horse Breeders Association named Sagamore Racing homebred filly Daring Dancer, by Empire Maker out of Vienna Affair, by Red Ransom, as its 2014 Champion Maryland-Bred 3-Year-Old Filly. Trained by Graham Motion, Daring Dancer began the 2014 season with a victory in the Grade 3 $100,000 Appalachian Stakes on April 17 at Keeneland, then took the Grade 2 $200,000 Lake George Stakes at Saratoga on July 23. The Sagamore filly enters the 2015 season with a career record of 6-4-0-0 and earnings of $233,080. ... Laurel Park canceled its live program Friday because of a thawing track. Live racing resumes today with a 12:30 p.m. first-race post time.

NFL: The Redskins released defensive end Stephen Bowen and defensive lineman Barry Cofield, both of whom spent the past four years with Washington. The Redskins signed free-agent defensive tackle Ricky Jean-Francois for $9 million over three years, including $4 million in guaranteed money. Washington also re-signed offensive tackle Tom Compton.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad

Blast summary, next game


Blast     2     6     10     5     —     24
Harrisburg     9     0     2     2     —     13


Scoring: 1. Harrisburg - Patrick Thompson (2pt) (Chris Hall) 0:49; 2. Harrisburg - Val Teixeira (2pt) (Tyler Witmer) 2:06; 3. Blast, - Vini Dantas (2pt) (Max Ferdinand) 7:47; 4. Harrisburg - Kenneth Fultz (2pt) (Patrick Thompson) 8:45; 5. Harrisburg - Chris Hall (3pt) (unassisted) 12:08. Penalties: 1. Blast - Max Ferdinand - (Foul), 9:46; 2. Harrisburg - Tyler Witmer - (Foul), 11:18; 3. Harrisburg - Kenneth Fultz - (Foul), 14:47


Scoring 6. Blast - Vini Dantas (2pt) (Max Ferdinand) 6:42; 7. Blast - Vini Dantas (2pt) (Max Ferdinand) 7:09; 8. Blast - Vini Dantas (2pt) (Tony Donatelli) 14:14. Penalties: 4. Harrisburg - Zachary Sell - (Foul), 0:12; 5. Harrisburg - Patrick Thompson - (Foul), 5:19; 6. Harrisburg - Ryan Rohrer - (Foul), 9:57; 7. Blast - Pat Healey - (Foul), 10:19; 8. Blast - Jonatas Melo - (Foul), 10:40; 9. Harrisburg - Dave Cash - (Pushing Blue Card), 2 min, 12:12.


Scoring: 9. Harrisburg - Patrick Thompson (2pt) (Dave Cash) 1:07; 10. Blast - Drew Ruggles (3pt) (unassisted) 8:31; 11. Blast - Jonatas Melo (2pt) (Adauto Neto) 10:49; 12. Blast - Drew Ruggles (2pt) (unassisted) 12:36; 13. Blast - Juan Pereira (3pt) (Mike Deasel) 13:20. Penalties: 10. Harrisburg - Craig Tyrell - (Foul), 2:37; 11. Blast - Max Ferdinand - (Foul), 5:43; 12. Harrisburg - Kevin Wolfe - (Foul), 6:27; 13. Blast - Drew Ruggles - (Foul), 9:48; 14. Harrisburg - Georges NouBossie - (Foul), 13:03; 15. Harrisburg - Chris Hall - (Foul), 13:16; 16. Harrisburg - Kenneth Fultz - (Foul), 14:36.


Scoring: 14. Blast - Tony Donatelli (2pt) (Onua Obasi) 1:52; 15. Blast - Lucas Roque (2pt) Max Ferdinand) 5:18; 16. Harrisburg - Georges NouBossie (2pt) (Dave Cash) 6:28; 17. Blast - Jonatas Melo (2pt) (empty net) (Pat Healey) 13:54. Penalties: 17. Harrisburg - Kenneth Fultz - (Foul), 3:53; 18. Harrisburg - Val Teixeira - (Foul), 4:01; 19. Blast - Jonatas Melo - (Foul), 4:57; 20. Harrisburg - Craig Tyrell - (Foul), 7:23; 21. Harrisburg - Craig Tyrell - (Foul), 10:18.

Power-play opportunies: Blast 0-for-1; Harrisburg 0-for-0. Shots on goal: Blast 22, Harrisburg 14. Saves: Blast, Saunders 8; Harrisburg, Mehl 11, Witmer 0. A: 4,989.



Blast at Rochester, 4