Goalkeeper Sagu to be inducted into Blast Hall of Fame

Former Blast goalkeeper Sagu, who spent eight seasons in Baltimore and was part of three championship teams, will be inducted into the franchise’s Hall of Fame.

Sagu was acquired by the Blast in a trade with the Cleveland Force just before the 2004-05 season and immediately became the team’s defensive glue and a fan favorite. In addition to helping the Blast claim three championships, he was a four-time league Goalkeeper of the Year and made All-League teams in seven of his eight seasons. His 95 regular-season wins rank third in franchise history, and he was the the 2009 Major Indoor Soccer League Championship Most Valuable Player and a team captain in his final season in 2011-12.

“When Sagu would play us when he was on the Dallas Sidekicks, it was clear that he was the leader and a gifted goalie,” Blast owner Ed Hale Sr. said in a release. “We were happy to have him on our team to help us win championships. He’s a great guy.”

Sagu becomes the 23rd member of the Blast’s Hall of Fame, joining Kenny Cooper, Stan Stamenkovic, Mike Stankovic, Bruce Savage, Tim Wittman, Joey Fink, Dave MacWilliams, Heinz Wirtz, Keith Van Eron, Dominic Mobilio, Billy Ronson, Richard Chinapoo, Pat Ercoli, Cris Vaccaro, Doug Neely, Dan Counce, Rusty Troy, Earl Foreman, Tarik Walker, Denison Cabral, Lance Johnson and Danny Kelly.

Sagu will be honored in a ceremony during halftime of the Blast’s game against the Florida Tropics on Saturday, Feb. 24, set for 6:05 p.m.



Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad