Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!

Blast owner Ed Hale launches Indoor Professional League; eight to 10 teams to start play in November

The Indoor Professional League will begin play in November with eight to 10 teams, including the Blast.

The Blast's new home — the Indoor Professional League — has officially been launched.

The new league, founded by Blast owner Ed Hale Sr., announced four teams that will be inaugural members with more franchises set to be named in the next 90 days.

"Today's announcement is just the beginning and we expect additional announcements in the next 30 to 60 days as we look forward to growing the league in a professional fashion to showcase our new product to our fans," Blast president and general manager Kevin Healey said.

Healey said he is expecting a total of eight to 10 teams for the inaugural season.

In February, Hale announced his team would be leaving the Major Arena Soccer League at the end of the 2015-16 season, disappointed with the league's business structure and stability of its franchises. The Blast went on to win the MASL championship last month and is now starting fresh in the IPL, which will have a franchiser/franchisee business plan led by Hale and headquartered in Baltimore.

Also on board in the new IPL are longstanding franchises St. Louis Ambush and Harrisburg Heat, along with newly formed Florida Tropics SC, which will be based in Lakeland, Fla.

The league will feature teams throughout North America and its inaugural season is set to begin in November with a 20-game regular-season schedule for each team.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad