Ravens will honor franchise's best during 2015 season

In celebration of their 20th season in Baltimore, the Ravens will honor some of the franchise's best players during the 2015 season.

The team announced Wednesday that one player will be honored during each of its 10 home games at M&T Bank Stadium. The player will also be featured on the ticket for that game.


The 10 players were decided by a fan vote of the best Ravens of all time. Three of the players – quarterback Joe Flacco, right guard Marshal Yanda and rush linebacker Terrell Suggs – are on the team, so somebody else from the organization will be honored on game day in their place.

Below are the scheduled honorees:

Preseason opener against the New Orleans Saints (tomorrow): O.J. Brigance (in place of Yanda)

Third preseason game against the Washington Redskins (Aug. 29): kicker Matt Stover

Week 3 against Cincinnati Bengals (Sept. 27): Offensive lineman Jonathan Ogden

Week 5 against Cleveland Browns (Oct. 11): Running back Jamal Lewis

Week 8 against San Diego Chargers (Nov. 1): Middle linebacker Ray Lewis

Week 10 against Jacksonville Jaguars (Nov. 15): Outside linebacker Peter Boulware

Week 11 against St. Louis Rams (Nov. 22): Safety Ed Reed, who will also be inducted into Ring of Honor

Week 13 against Seattle Seahawks (Dec. 13): Tight end Todd Heap (in place of Flacco)

Week 16 against Pittsburgh Steelers (Dec. 27): To be announced (in place of Suggs)

Recommended on Baltimore Sun