Baltimore Ravens

NFL says Ravens' Anthony Levine was lined up properly on game-winning field goal block

There wasn't a lot of griping coming out of the Cleveland locker room about the final play, but the Internet was abuzz with a photograph that showed Ravens safety Anthony Levine lined up across the line of scrimmage on the game-winning field goal block Monday in the 33-27 win over the Cleveland Browns.

NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino put that to rest on Twitter Tuesday afternoon, saying that the ball was spotted on the 33.5-yard line, and the black line-of-scrimmage graphic on ESPN's broadcast was right on the 33-yard line.


An NFL spokesman confirmed Blandino's assertion.

"The ball was spotted at the 33-and-a-half yard line for the kick," Michael Signora said in an email. "The center moves the ball up slightly to get in position for the snap.  The black line you see, which television uses to denote the line of scrimmage, appears to be at the 33, not the 33-and-a-half.  So when the ball is snapped, the defensive player is not at the 33-and-a-half yard-line and he appears to be in a legal position."


Levine, who jumped into the neutral zone on the play but reset and wasn't flagged, wasn't ultimately consequential to the play.

Defensive end Brent Urban, playing in his first career game, swatted the ball down with his left hand, and safety Will Hill returned it 64 yards for a Ravens win.

As for Browns fans' calls that Hill stepped out of bounds on the sideline, that one might be harder to prove one way or another. The play, like all scoring plays, was reviewed, and you'd have to think the NFL looked at it before ruling the play a score.

Baltimore Sun reporter Jeff Zrebiec contributed to this article.