Haloti Ngata says he hasn't been fined by NFL for hit on RG3
By By Aaron Wilson
The Baltimore Sun|
Dec 13, 2012 | 1:32 PM
Ravens Pro Bowl defensive tackle Haloti Ngata said he hasn't been fined by the NFL at this point for a roughing the passer infraction stemming from his crushing hit on Washington Redskins star rookie quarterback Robert Griffin III.
Typically, players are informed of discipline from the league office stemming from the previous game by Thursday.
"No," Ngata said when asked if he had been fined. "They haven't sent me anything."
Ngata was penalized during the first quarter of the Redskins' 31-28 overtime win with the referee announcing that he had struck Griffin with the crown of his helmet. Although the 2011 Heisman Trophy winner's helmet went flying off, video replay clearly shows that Ngata delivered a double-handed shove to the chest of the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year candidate.
"I thought it was clean," said Ngata, who collided with Griffin in the fourth quarter "So, we'll see."