Orioles announce nicknames, reveal jerseys and caps for Players Weekend

The Orioles announced the nicknames that will be on the backs of the players’ jerseys during Players’ Weekend from Aug. 24-26 when they host the New York Yankees at Camden Yards.

This is the second year Major League Baseball has held Players’ Weekend, which was designed to “showcase the personalities and interests of players by allowing them to select a nickname for the back of their jersey as well as wear and use uniquely colored and designed equipment including bats, spikes, batting gloves, wristbands, compression sleeves and catcher’s equipment.”


Specially designed uniforms and caps will be worn for the games, and they will be auctioned at, with the proceeds going to the MLB-MLBPA Youth Development Foundation.

Below is a list of the Orioles’ chosen nicknames:

Tim Beckham — Swaggy

Danny Valencia — Slugger

Adam Jones — La Gente

Bobby Dickerson — Bobby D.

Engelb Vielma — El Flaco

Steve Wilkerson — Breeze

Craig Gentry — Gent

The Orioles' hat for Players Weekend.
The Orioles' hat for Players Weekend. (Orioles)

Chance Sisco — Sisco Kid

Trey Mancini — Boomer

Alex Cobb — Cobb

Austin Hays — Haysie

Chris Davis — Crush


Wayne Kirby — Kirb

Joey Rickard — J-rick

Anthony Santander — Kenny

Buck Showalter — Buck

Andrew Susac — Suz

Breyvic Valera — BV

Jace Peterson — Petey

Jimmy Yacabonis — Yac

Yefry Ramírez — El Varón

Jonathan Villar — Villi

Caleb Joseph — Cale

Dylan Bundy — Dilly

Pedro Araujo — El Montro

Renato Núñez — Tato

Roger McDowell — McDowell

David Hess — Hesser

Mike Wright Jr. — Bird

Mark Trumbo — Trum

Scott Coolbaugh — Coolie

Richard Bleier — Dickie D.

Cody Carroll — CC

Miguel Castro — Villa Hermosa

Paul Fry — Papa Frita

Ryan Meisinger — Meis

Andrew Cashner — Cash

Einar Díaz — Caballete

Donnie Hart — D. Hart

Evan Phillips — Philly

Jhan Mariñez — La Electricidad

Michael Givens — Tony

Austin Wynns — Winnie

Tanner Scott — Scottie

Alan Mills — Millsy

John Russell — JR

Jett Ruiz — Tyler

Howie Clark — HC

Hunter Harvey — Squirrel

Gabriel Ynoa — El Tiguere