Baltimore Orioles

Oregon State's Adley Rutschman, Orioles' top draft pick, wins Golden Spikes Award

OMAHA, Neb. — Oregon State catcher Adley Rutschman has won the Golden Spikes Award as the nation's outstanding college baseball player.

The No. 1 overall draft pick by the Orioles was the Pac-12 player of the year after batting .411 with 17 home runs and 58 RBIs and an NCAA-leading .575 on-base percentage. Last year, he was the College World Series Most Outstanding Player for the national champion Beavers.


Rutschman is the first Oregon State player and ninth from the Pac-12 to win the award. California's Andrew Vaughn won last year, making this the first time the Pac-12 has had back-to-back winners.

Golden Spikes winners

2019—Adley Rutschman, c, Oregon State


2018—Andrew Vaughn, 1b, California

2017—Brendan McKay, lhp/1b, Louisville

2016—Kyle Lewis, of, Mercer

2015—Andrew Benintendi, of, Arkansas

2014—A.J. Reed, inf-p, Kentucky

2013—Kris Bryant, inf, San Diego

2012—Mike Zunino, c, Florida

2011—Trevor Bauer, p, UCLA


2010—Bryce Harper, c, Southern Nevada

2009—Stephen Strasburg, p, San Diego State

2008—Buster Posey, c, Florida State

2007—David Price, p, Vanderbilt

2006—Tim Lincecum, p, Washington

2005—Alex Gordon, 3b, Nebraska


2004—Jered Weaver, p, Long Beach State

2003—Rickie Weeks, inf, Southern U.

2002—Khalil Greene, ss, Clemson

2001—Mark Prior, p, Southern California

2000—Kip Bouknight, p, South Carolina

1999—Jason Jennings, p-dh, Baylor


1998—Pat Burrell, 3b, Miami

1997—J.D. Drew, of, Florida State

1996—Travis Lee, 1b, San Diego State

1995—Mark Kotsay, of, Cal State-Fullerton

1994—Jason Varitek, c, Georgia Tech

1993—Darren Dreifort, p, Wichita State


1992—Phil Nevin, c, Cal State-Fullerton

1991—Mike Kelly, of, Arizona State

1990—Alex Fernandez, p, Miami-Dade South

1989—Ben McDonald, p, Louisiana State

1988—Robin Ventura, 3b, Oklahoma State

1987—Jim Abbott, p, Michigan


1986—Mike Loynd, p, Florida State

1985—Will Clark, 1b, Mississippi State

Baltimore Orioles Insider

Baltimore Orioles Insider


Want to be an Orioles Insider? The Sun has you covered. Don't miss any Orioles news, notes and info all baseball season and beyond.

1984—Oddibe McDowell, of, Arizona State

1983—Dave Magadan, inf, Alabama

1982—Augie Schmidt, inf, New Orleans

1981—Mike Fuentes, of, Florida State


1980—Terry Francona, of, Arizona

1979—Tim Wallach, inf, Cal State-Fullerton

1978—Bob Horner, inf, Arizona State