Chen goes for win No. 12 in series finale against Tigers

DETROIT — Orioles left-hander Wei-Yin Chen goes for his 12th win of the season this afternoon against the Tigers here at Comerica Park.

That would mark the most wins by an Orioles pitcher since Erik Bedard won 13 games back in 2007.


If the Orioles can win today and take the series from the Tigers, they were finish the season series with Detroit with a 3-3 record. Of their completed series, the Orioles are 7-2-1, with series wins over Atlanta (2-1), Kansas City (5-4), Minnesota (5-2), Philadelphia (2-1), Pittsburgh (3-0), Seattle (5-1 with 3 games left to play) and Washington (4-3) with a series split with Cleveland (4-4). Their two series losses have come to the Angels (2-7) and Mets (0-3).

-- With their 3-2 win over the Tigers on Saturday, the Orioles improved their record in one-run games to 23-6 (.793), putting them on pace to have the highest winning percentage in one-run games in MLB history. That record is currently held by the 1981 Orioles, who were 21-7 (.750) in one-run contests.


-- According to Elias, Orioles closer Jim Johnson, who earned his 36th save last night, has a major league-leading 15 "quality saves," defined as saves in which the pitcher enters the game with the tying run in scoring position or protects a one-run lead for at lease one inning. Pittsburgh's Joel Hanrahan is second with 13 quality saves.

-- Brian Matusz remains a possible long relief possibility if the Orioles need him. He's scheduled to pitch in relief at Triple-A Norfolk today if needed.

Orioles manager Buck Showalter said before today's game that he was tempted to put Matt Wieters at designated hitter today, but decided to give him the day completely off because he will catch all three games of the Texas series this week. Taylor Tegarden will catch for Wieters and designated hitter Chris Davis, who hit last night's game-winning three-run homer, moves up to fifth in the batting order.

Here are this afternoon's lineups:

Nick Markakis RF
J.J. Hardy SS
Nate McLouth LF
Adam Jones CF
Chris Davis DH
Mark Reynolds 1B
Manny Machado 3B
Omar Quintanilla 2B
Taylor Teagarden C
Wei-Yin Chen LHP

Austin Jackson CF
Omar Infante 2B
Miguel Cabrera 3B
Prince Fielder 1B
Jhonny Peralta SS
Delmon Young DH
Jeff Baker RF
Gerald Laird C
Quintin Berry LF
Doug Fister RHP

Recommended on Baltimore Sun