Orioles' Chris Davis picked as team's nominee for Hank Aaron Award

Orioles first baseman Chris Davis has been named the club's nominee for the annual Hank Aaron Award.

Davis, who led the major leagues with a franchise-record 53 home runs and also led the majors with 138 RBIs and 96 extra-base hits, is one of 30 finalists -- one from each team -- announced Monday. Major League Baseball gives the Hank Aaron Award to the top offensive player in the American League and the National League.

For the fourth straight year, Aaron has assembled a panel of former players to help vote on the award. That panel includes former Orioles Hall of Famers Eddie Murray and Roberto Alomar and also consists of Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor and Robin Yount. Through Oct. 10, fans will also have the opportunity to vote on the award on MLB.com.

No Orioles player has ever won the award, which was created in 1999 to honor the 25thanniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home-run record.


The winners of the award will be announced during the World Series.

Here is a complete list of finalists:

American League


Baltimore Orioles: Chris Davis
Boston Red Sox: David Ortiz
Chicago White Sox: Alexei Ramirez
Cleveland Indians: Jason Kipnis
Detroit Tigers: Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros: Jason Castro
Kansas City Royals: Eric Hosmer
Los Angeles Angels: Mike Trout
Minnesota Twins: Joe Mauer
New York Yankees: Robinson Cano
Oakland Athletics: Josh Donaldson
Seattle Mariners: Kendrys Morales
Tampa Bay Rays: Evan Longoria
Texas Rangers: Adrian Beltre
Toronto Blue Jays: Edwin Encarnacion


National League

Arizona Diamondbacks: Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves: Freddie Freeman
Chicago Cubs: Nate Schierholtz
Cincinnati Reds: Jay Bruce
Colorado Rockies: Michael Cuddyer
Los Angeles Dodgers: Hanley Ramirez
Miami Marlins: Giancarlo Stanton
Milwaukee Brewers: Carlos Gomez
New York Mets: David Wright
Philadelphia Phillies: Domonic Brown
Pittsburgh Pirates: Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Carpenter
San Diego Padres: Will Venable
San Francisco Giants: Hunter Pence
Washington Nationals: Jayson Werth