Orioles and Royals tie for Wilson AL Defensive Team of the Year honors

After a record-setting defensive season in 2013, the Orioles had to share this year's Wilson American League Defensive Team of the Year honors with the Kansas City Royals.

The Orioles set major league records with a .991 team fielding percentage, committing just 54 errors in a 162-game season and recording 119 errorless games. They also had three players win Gold Glove Awards last month.


Orioles third baseman Manny Machado was named the Orioles' Wilson Defensive Player of the Year, but was edged for the Wilson AL Defensive Player of the Year Award by Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia.

The Royals compiled a .986 fielding percentage and also had three Gold Glove Award winners this season.


This is just the second year of the awards, which are given by Wilson Sporting Goods and are decided by a formula that combines various sabermetrics, scouting information and fielding statistics.

Machado led all AL defenders in defensive runs saved (35) and defensive WAR (4.3), which were two of the five components in deciding the award. Fielding percentage, as well as Inside Edge scouting service's fielding range and arm accuracy ratings, were the other three components.

Machado, center fielder Adam Jones and shortstop J.J. Hardy all took home Gold Glove Awards last week, marking the first time three Orioles players won in back-to-back seasons since 1975 and 1976. The Orioles led baseball with three winners and six finalists (Matt Wieters, Chris Davis and Nick Markakis were also considered).

The winners of the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award will be announced Friday night. Machado is a strong candidate to win.

Created in 2011, the Platinum Glove goes to the top defensive player in each league, with all Gold Glove Award winners being the finalists. Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre and St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won the award in each of its first two seasons.