Sports Orioles

Recapping the Orioles: A year-by-year look back to 1954

  • Orioles of the past and present reflect on the club's tenure in Baltimore

    Orioles of the past and present reflect on the club's tenure in Baltimore

    As the Orioles celebrate their 60th anniversary, Baltimore Sun reporters Mike Klingaman and Dan Connolly talk to some of the signature players in the club's history. Browse images of a key player from each decade to relive the highlights and lowlights. For a look at the year-by-year capsules through...

  • 1954-1959: Year-by-year capsules

    1954-1959: Year-by-year capsules

    1954 Record: 54-100 Place: Seventh in American League Manager: Jimmy Dykes Most Valuable Oriole: Chuck Diering Batting leader: Cal Abrams (.293) Home run leader: Vern Stephens (8) RBI leader: Vern Stephens (46) Wins leader: Bob Turley (14) ERA leader: Duane Pillette (3.12) Notable: After 52 years...

  • 1960-1969: Year-by-year capsules

    1960-1969: Year-by-year capsules

    1960 Record: 89-65 Place: Second in American League Manager: Paul Richards Most Valuable Oriole: Brooks Robinson Batting leader: Brooks Robinson (.294) Home run leader: Ron Hansen (22) RBI leader: Jim Gentile (98) Wins leader: Chuck Estrada (18) ERA leader: Hal Brown (3.06) Notable: The Orioles...

  • 1970-1979: Year-by-year capsules

    1970-1979: Year-by-year capsules

    1970 Record: 108-54 Place: First in American League East Postseason: Beat Cincinnati Reds in World Series (4-1) Manager: Earl Weaver Most Valuable Oriole: Boog Powell Batting leader: Frank Robinson (.306) Home run leader: Boog Powell (35) RBI leader: Boog Powell (114) Wins leader: Mike Cuellar,...

  • 1980-1989: Year-by-year capsules

    1980-1989: Year-by-year capsules

    1980 Record: 100-62 Place: Second in American League East Manager: Earl Weaver Most Valuable Oriole: Al Bumbry Batting leader: Al Bumbry (.318) Home run leader: Eddie Murray (32) RBI leader: Eddie Murray (116) Wins leader: Steve Stone (25) ERA leader: Steve Stone (3.23) Notable: The Orioles reached...

  • 1990-1999: Year-by-year capsules

    1990-1999: Year-by-year capsules

    1990 Record: 76-85 Place: Fifth in American League East Manager: Frank Robinson Most Valuable Oriole: Cal Ripken Jr. Batting leader: Steve Finley (.256) Home run leader: Cal Ripken Jr. (21) RBI leader: Cal Ripken Jr. (84) Wins leader: Dave Johnson (13) ERA leader: Dave Johnson (4.10) Notable: The...

  • 2000-2009: Year-by-year capsules

    2000-2009: Year-by-year capsules

    2000 Record: 74-88 Place: Fourth in American League East Manager: Mike Hargrove Most Valuable Oriole: Delino DeShields Batting leader: Delino DeShields (.296) Home run leader: Albert Belle (23) RBI leader: Albert Belle (103) Wins leader: Jose Mercedes (14) ERA leader: Mike Mussina (3.79) Notable:...

  • 2010-2013: Year-by-year capsules

    2010-2013: Year-by-year capsules

    2010 Record: 66-96 Place: Fifth in American League East Manager: Dave Trembley, Juan Samuel, Buck Showalter Most Valuable Oriole: Luke Scott Batting leader: Nick Markakis (.297) Home run leader: Luke Scott (27) RBI leader: Ty Wigginton (76) Wins leader: Jeremy Guthrie (11) ERA leader: Jeremy Guthrie...