Torrey Smith's departure nearly completes Super Bowl offensive turnover

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

When the Ravens beat the San Francisco 49ers to win Super Bowl XLVII, their offensive coordinator was Jim Caldwell.

Behind quarterback Joe Flacco in the backfield were Ray Rice and Vonta Leach. Flacco's top four receivers were Anquan Boldin, Torrey Smith, Jacoby Jones and Tandon Doss. Ed Dickson and Dennis Pitta were the Ravens' two primary tight ends and the offensive line included Bryant McKinnie and Michael Oher at tackles and Matt Birk as the starting center.


That game was just 25 months ago.

Torrey Smith's imminent departure in free agency all but completes a stunning overhaul for the Flacco-led, Super Bowl-winning offense. Beyond Flacco, the only skilled position offensive player that could be on the Ravens' roster when training camp begins is Pitta, and that is far from certain. Pitta has fractured and dislocated his right hip in consecutive years, and nobody seems to know if he'll be able to play again.


As for other Super Bowl offensive starters still with the organization, you have starting guards Marshal Yanda and Kelechi Osemele, and that's it.

Baltimore Orioles Insider


Want to be an Orioles Insider? The Sun has you covered. Don't miss any Orioles news, notes and info all baseball season and beyond.

The Ravens are on their second offensive coordinator since that game, as Caldwell was replaced by Gary Kubiak, who has been replaced by Marc Trestman. Caldwell and Kubiak both got head-coaching jobs.

Rice was ultimately replaced by Justin Forsett, who is now a free agent, while Leach's job went to his former understudy, Kyle Juszczyk.

The Ravens' top four receivers are now Steve Smith, Marlon Brown, Kamar Aiken and Michael Campanaro. None of the six wide receivers that were on the Ravens' roster during the Super Bowl will still be with the organization when Torrey Smith departs in free agency.

As far as tight end, the Ravens, needing to fill in for an injured Pitta, relied on Dallas Clark in 2013 and Owen Daniels in 2014. Clark is now retired, while Daniels will hit the free agent market tomorrow.

On the offensive line, Jeremy Zuttah replaced Gino Gradkowski who replaced a retired Birk. Eugene Monroe and Rick Wagner have replaced McKinnie and Oher as the starting offensive tackles.

I'm sure you get the point. Rosters change every year in the NFL. That's the nature of it. However, it's still pretty stunning to see all the changes that a Super Bowl-winning offense – which was so good in the postseason – endured so quickly.

It's also a credit to Flacco that he's never used the revolving door of play callers, targets and centers as an excuse.