Four players picked for Baseball Hall of Fame; Mike Mussina up to 24.6 percent

Left-hander Randy Johnson was one of four players voted into the Baseball Hall of Fame this year.
Left-hander Randy Johnson was one of four players voted into the Baseball Hall of Fame this year. (Paul Connors, Associated Press)

For the first time since 1955, the Baseball Writers' Association of America has voted in four players into the National Baseball Hall of Fame -- three of which were first-time eligible and made their marks on the mound.

Five-time Cy Young Award winner Randy Johnson, three-time Cy Young Award winner Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz, who won one Cy Young Award as a starter and finished third as a reliever, received the required 75 percent from voting members of the BBWAA.


So did Houston Astros second baseman Craig Biggio, who was the highest returning vote-getter. The quartet of inductees is the most selected by the BBWAA since Joe DiMaggio led three others in 1955. This year's induction will be July 26 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Only once has there been more than four BBWAA electees inducted in one ceremony -- the first class in 1939. Catcher Mike Piazza had a chance at making it five this year, but he finished with 69.9 percent.

Johnson was the overall leading vote-getter with 97.3 percent (534 votes) of the 549 ballots submitted. It was the eighth-highest percentage in Hall of Fame history.

Martinez was named on 91.1 percent of ballots, Smoltz on 82.9 percent and Biggio on 82.7 percent. Biggio fell two votes short last year.

Former Orioles ace Mike Mussina increased his ballot inclusion by 4.3 percentage points in his second year of eligibility. He received inclusion on 135 ballots (24.6 percent). Former Orioles Tim Raines (55 percent), Curt Schilling (39.2 percent), Lee Smith (30.2 percent) and Sammy Sosa (6.6 percent) remained on the ballot for next year.

Here are the full results of the balloting, according to Major League Baseball:

Randy Johnson 534 votes (97.3)
Pedro Martinez 500 (91.1)
John Smoltz 455 (82.9)
Craig Biggio 454 (82.7)
Mike Piazza 384 (69.9)
Jeff Bagwell 306 (55.7)
Tim Raines 302 (55.0)
Curt Schilling 215 (39.2)
Roger Clemens 206 (37.5)
Barry Bonds 202 (36.8)
Lee Smith 166 (30.2)
Edgar Martinez 148 (27.0)
Alan Trammell 138 (25.1)
Mike Mussina 135 (24.6)
Jeff Kent 77 (14.0)
Fred McGriff 71 (12.9)
Larry Walker 65 (11.8)
Gary Sheffield 64 (11.7)
Mark McGwire 55 (10.0)
Don Mattingly 50 (9.1)
Sammy Sosa 36 (6.6)
Nomar Garciaparra 30 (5.5)
Carlos Delgado 21 (3.8)
Troy Percival 4 (0.7)
Aaron Boone 2 (0.4)
Tom Gordon 2 (0.4)
Darin Erstad 1 (0.2)
Rich Aurilia 0
Tony Clark 0
Jermaine Dye 0
Cliff Floyd 0
Brian Giles 0
Eddie Guardado 0
Jason Schmidt 0

Recommended on Baltimore Sun