Adam Jones, J.J. Hardy and Nick Markakis named finalists for Gold Glove awards

Three Orioles were named finalists for American League Gold Glove awards at their respective positions, including center fielder Adam Jones, who can win the award for the fourth time.

Like Jones, shortstop J.J. Hardy could win a Gold Glove for the third consecutive year, while right fielder Nick Markakis is up for his second career award. He also won in 2011.


The Gold Glove winners will be announced Nov. 4 at 7 p.m. live on ESPN2. Winners are decided by a vote of managers and coaches (up to seven votes per team) and a sabermetric element that was introduced for the first time last season. Managers and coaches can't vote for players on their own team.

Rawlings partnered with the Society for American Baseball Research to create a metric -- the SABR defensive index -- that complements the voting process.


Jones, Hardy and third baseman Manny Machado all won the award last season. This could be the first time the Orioles have fielded three Gold Glove winners for three consecutive seasons since they won three or more from 1973 to 1976.

The Orioles have won a total of 67 Gold Glove awards, most of any AL team and second in the majors behind the St. Louis Cardinals' 84 awards.

Last season, the Orioles had finalists at six different positions: catcher Matt Wieters, first baseman Chris Davis, third baseman Manny Machado, Hardy, Jones and Markakis.

But this year, Wieters played just 26 games before Tommy John surgery ended his season. Machado missed the season's first month while recovering from offseason knee surgery and was lost for the season after injuring his other knee in August. Davis dealt with an oblique injury early in the season and ended the year serving a 25-game suspension for a failed drug test.

If Jones, who also won the Gold Glove in 2009, 2012 and 2013, wins again this season, his four career Gold Glove awards would tie him for third-most in Orioles history. Third baseman Brooks Robinson won 16 career Gold Gloves, while center fielder Paul Blair and shortstop Mark Belanger each won eight. Right-hander Jim Palmer, second baseman Bobby Grich and right-hander Mike Mussina each won four.

Hardy could become the first Orioles shortstop to win the award in three straight seasons since Belanger received the award six consecutive seasons from 1973 to 1978. Cal Ripken Jr. won back-to-back Gold Gloves as shortstop in 1991 and 1992.

Markakis won the award in 2011, and he was a finalist last season. Markakis did not commit a single error this season in 306 total chances and recorded 11 outfield assists, second-most among AL right fielders.

The Platinum Glove award, given to the top overall defensive player in each league, will be announced at the Gold Glove award ceremony Nov. 7. Machado won the AL Platinum Glove last season.