Spurs' Gregg Popovich is NBA coach of the year for the third time

Gregg Popovich has become just the third person ever to be named the NBA coach of the year three times.

Popovich, who coached the San Antonio Spurs to a league-best 62-20 record, joins Don Nelson and Pat Riley in that elite group.

He also won the honor in 2003 and 2012.

The Spurs have won at least 50 games in 16 of Popovich's 18 seasons at the helm, including the last 15 straight.

Phoenix's Jeff Hornacek was runner-up in the voting and Chicago's Tom Thibodeau finished third.

Popovich led the Spurs to NBA titles in 1999, 2003, 2005 and 2007, and back to the finals last season before losing a heartbreaking Game 7 to the Miami Heat.


California Chrome wins the 140th Kentucky Derby

Clippers' Chris Paul knows there is no time for injuries

Floyd Mayweather Jr. prevails in close fight with Marcos Maidana


Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad