Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!

Bogues, Phelan among first-timers on Naismith Hall of Fame ballot

From Sun staff reports
The Hall of Fame could be in the future for Muggsy Bogues and Jim Phelan.

Former Dunbar point guard Muggsy Bogues, the shortest player in NBA history at 5 feet 3, and former Mount St. Mary's coach Jim Phelan are among the first-time candidates announced Tuesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The first-year slate also includes shooting guard Tracy McGrady, center Ben Wallace, referee Jake O'Donnell, coach Bob Saulsbury, coach Bill Self and coach Harry Statham. Among non-first-year players on the ballot are forwards Chris Webber and Mark Aguirre and guards Tim Hardaway, Maurice Cheeks, Kevin Johnson and Sidney Moncrief.

Bogues, 51, who still owns a house in Ellicott City, played at Wake Forest and spent the majority of his 13-season NBA career with the Charlotte Hornets. He also played for the Washington Bullets, Toronto Raptors and Golden State Warriors, and coached the WNBA's Charlotte Sting.

Phelan, 87, coached the Mount men from 1953 to 2003, compiling a record of 830-524 and winning the 1962 NCAA championship.

A news conference announcing the finalists from the North American and women’s committee for the class of 2017 will be held at NBA All-Star Weekend, which is scheduled for Feb. 18 in New Orleans. The entire class of 2017, including those selected by the direct-elect committees, will be unveiled April 3 at the NCAA men's Final Four in Phoenix.

Enshrinement festivities will take place Sept. 7-9 in Springfield, Mass.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame ballot


* Indicates First-Time Nominee

North American Committee Nominations

Mark Aguirre (PLA)

Geese Ausbie (PLA)

Bill Bertka (COA)

Muggsy Bogues (PLA)*

Junior Bridgeman (PLA)

Irv Brown (REF)

Maurice Cheeks (PLA)

Terry Cummings (PLA)

Charles "Lefty" Driesell (COA)

Hugh Evans (REF)

Bill Fitch (COA)

Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)

Tim Hardaway (PLA)

Del Harris (COA)

Robert Hughes (COA)

Kevin Johnson (PLA)

Marques Johnson (PLA)

Bobby Jones (PLA)

Jerry "Tiger" Jones (COA)

Gene Keady (COA)

Rollie Massimino (COA)

Tracy McGrady (PLA)*

Gary McKnight (COA)

Danny Miles (COA)

Sidney Moncrief (PLA)

Dick Motta (COA)

Swen Nater (PLA)

Jake O'Donnell (REF)*

Jim Phelan (COA)*

Mark Price (PLA)

Jere Quinn (COA)*

Glenn Robinson (COA)

Lee Rose (COA)

Bo Ryan (COA)

Bob Saulsbury (COA)*

Bill Self (COA)*

Jack Sikma (PLA)

Steve Smith (COA)

Fred Snowden (COA)

Harry Statham (COA)*

Eddie Sutton (COA)

Rudy Tomjanovich (COA)

Ben Wallace (PLA)*

Chris Webber (PLA)

Paul Westphal (PLA)

Women's Committee Nominations

Leta Andrews (COA)

Jennifer Azzi (PLA)

Rebecca Lobo (PLA)

Muffet McGraw (COA)

Susie McConnell (PLA)

Pearl Moore (PLA)

Kim Mulkey (COA, PLA)

Harley Redin (COA)

Theresa Shank (PLA)

Marianne Stanley (COA)

Barbara Stevens (COA)

Wayland Baptist (TEA)

Therea Weatherspoon (PLA)

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY Early African-American Pioneers Committee Nominations

Clarence "Puggy" Bell

Sonny Boswell

Zack Clayton

Chuck Cooper

Bill Garrett

Inman Jackson

Clarence "Fats" Jenkins

Bucky Lew

Davage "Dave" Minor

Hudson Oliver

Al "Runt" Pullins

James "Pappy" Ricks

Paul Robeson

Eyre Saitch

William "Wee Willie" Smith

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY International Committee Nominations

Tal Brody

Jackie Chazalon

Vlade Divac

Nick Galis

Semen Khalipski

Vladimir Kondrashin

Toni Kukoc

Marcos Leite

Aldo Ossola

Amaury Pasos

Dino Radja

Manuel Sainz

Togo Soares

Ranko Zeravica

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY Contributor Committee Nominations

Marv Albert

Al Attles

Dick Baumgartner*

Marty Blake

Vic Bubas

Wayne Duke

David Falk*

Harry Glickman

Marty Glickman

Curt Gowdy

Tim Grgurich

Robert Indiana*

Mannie Jackson

Tom Jernstedt

Johnny "Red" Kerr

John Kline

Red Klotz

Jerry Krause

Bobby Lewis*

Jack McCloskey

Johnny Most

Dennis Murphy

Joe O'Toole

Billy Packer

Dee Rowe*

Zelda Spoelstra

Jim Valvano

Donnie Walsh

Frank Walsh

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY Veterans Committee Nominations

1936 US Olympic Team (TEA)

1964 State Department Basketball Ambassadors (TEA)

Ron Boone (PLA)

Sid Borgia (REF)*

Carl Braun (PLA)

Frank Brian (PLA)

Joe Caldwell (PLA)

Mack Calvin (PLA)

Charles Eckman (REF)

Leroy Edwards (PLA)

Leo Ferris (CONT)

Clarence "Bevo" Francis (PLA)

Buck Freeman (COA)

Donnie Freeman (PLA)

Travis Grant (PLA)

Bob Grody (PLA)

Robert Harrison (PLA)

Flo Harvey (PLA)

Dick Hemric (PLA)*

Cam Henderson (COA)

Robert Hopkins (PLA)

Lou Hudson (PLA)

Warren Jabali (PLA)

Jimmy Jones (PLA)

Charles Kenaith (PLA)*

Freddie Lewis (PLA)

Jim Loscutoff (PLA)

Loyola of Chicago (TEA)

Billy Markward (CONT)*

George McGinnis (PLA)

Ray Mears (COA)*

Francis Meehan (PLA)

Donald "Dudey" Moore (COA)

Willie Naulls (PLA)

Philadelphia SPHAS (TEA)

Mel Riebe (PLA)

Glenn Roberts (PLA)

Holcombe Rucker (CONT)

Kenny Sailors (PLA)

Fred Schaus (PLA)*

Charlie Scott (PLA)

Kenny Sears (PLA)

Frank Selvy (PLA)

George Senesky (PLA)

Paul Seymour (PLA)

Charles Siler (CONT)

Talvin Skinner (PLA)

Ken Suesens (PLA)

Tennessee A&I (TEA)

Dick Van Arsdale (PLA)

Tom Van Arsdale (PLA)

Willie Wise (PLA)

Max Zaslofsky (PLA)