Baltimore native Angel McCoughtry, former Terp Kristi Toliver make WNBA All-Star roster

Angel McCoughtry of the Atlanta Dream shoots against the New York Liberty on June 19, 2018 in White Plains, N.Y.
Angel McCoughtry of the Atlanta Dream shoots against the New York Liberty on June 19, 2018 in White Plains, N.Y. (Steve Freeman / HANDOUT)

The WNBA announced its All-Star lineup Tuesday night, and, once again, the list is speckled with Maryland-rooted talent.

Angel McCoughtry of the Atlanta Dream, a native of Baltimore and a former standout at St. Frances, earned a spot on the roster for the fifth time in her 8 ½ season career. She's the league record-holder for single-game points in the Finals (38) and playoffs (42).

Atlanta Dream star Angel McCoughtry, a Baltimore native and former St. Frances standout, doesn't have a lot left to accomplish in her basketball career — except for a WNBA championship.

Guard Kristi Toliver, now in her tenth season in the WNBA, earned her second All-Star nod and first as a Washington Mystic. In her 305 career games, she’s amassed 3,743 points, 690 rebounds and 1,014 assists. A former Terp, Toliver was the 25th player in Maryland history to score 1,000 points. She was the catalyst of Maryland’s first national championship victory in women’s basketball, sinking the tying 3-pointer to force overtime with Duke in 2006.

The league scrapped conference affiliation for this year’s balloting — fans’ selections accounted for 40 percent of the vote. Media members, players and coaches made up 20 percent each. Neither players nor coaches were allowed to cast votes for members of their own team.


In her fifth selection to the All-Star Game, Mystics forward Elena Delle Donne has been selected as a captain. She and Los Angeles Sparks star Candace Parker will choose from the pool of All-Stars to create two 11-player teams, following the new WNBA format. Delle Donne will have the first pick.

Rosters will be revealed Thursday before the start of the Mystics’ game against the Dallas Wings at 8 p.m. on ESPN2. Starters will be unveiled at 9 p.m. on July 27.

Minnesota Lynx star Maya Moore collected 47,620 votes to lead the WNBA, followed by Delle Donne (42,171), Parker (38,575), the Seattle Storm’s Sue Bird (37,098) and Phoenix Mercury veteran Diana Taurasi (35,687).

Here is the full lineup for the WNBA All-Star game, which will be played in Minneapolis at Target Center, home of the Lynx, on July 28.



Seimone Augustus, Minnesota Lynx

Sue Bird, Seattle Storm

Skylar Diggins-Smith, Dallas Wings

Chelsea Gray, Los Angeles Sparks

Jewell Loyd, Seattle Storm

Kayla McBride, Las Vegas Aces

Allie Quigley, Chicago Sky

Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury

Kristi Toliver, Washington Mystics


DeWanna Bonner, Phoenix Mercury

Liz Cambage, Dallas Wings

Tina Charles, New York Liberty

Elena Delle Donne, Washington Mystics

Brittney Griner, Phoenix Mercury

Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota Lynx

Angel McCoughtry, Atlanta Dream

Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx

Chiney Ogwumike, Connecticut Sun

Nneka Ogwumike, Los Angeles Sparks

Candace Parker, Los Angeles Sparks

Breanna Stewart, Seattle Storm

A’ja Wilson, Las Vegas Aces