Digest: Nationals bring back all 7 members of coaching staff for 2017

All seven members of Washington Nationals manager Dusty Baker's major league coaching staff will return to the team for the 2017 season, the team announced on Twitter.

Among the coaches sticking around for next season: pitching coach Mike Maddux, hitting coach Rick Schu, bench coach Chris Speier, first base coach Davey Lopes and third base coach Bob Henley. It was Henley who waived Jayson Werth home in a bid to score from first on Ryan Zimmerman's double in the seventh inning of Game 5 of the National League Division Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers last week. Werth was easily thrown out, and the Nationals went on to lose, 4-3, and get eliminated.


The Nationals won 95 games and the NL East title in Baker's first season as their manager before losing to the Dodgers.

Et cetera


Terps men's basketball No. 21 in coaches poll

At last week's Big Ten Media Day in Washington, junior guard Melo Trimble and senior center Damonte Dodd made references to the "low expectations" for the Maryland men's basketball team outside College Park. That motivational angle won't work, at least among the nation's Division I coaches. In the preseason coaches' poll released Thursday by USA Today, the Terps find themselves at No. 21 despite losing four starters from last season's 27-9 Sweet 16 team. Maryland is the lowest among the five Big Ten Conference teams ranked. Michigan State is No. 9, Wisconsin is No. 10, Indiana is No. 12 and Purdue is No. 15. Duke is No. 1.

Don Markus

More men's college basketball: UMBC junior guard Jairus Lyles was selected to the six-player America East Conference preseason team in a vote by the league's nine head coaches. The Retrievers, under first-year coach Ryan Odom, were picked to finish sixth.

Women's college basketball: Defending champion Harford Community College is ranked first in the Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference preseason poll with nine first-place votes and 164 total points, followed by Baltimore City CC (157, four) and Cecil College (133, one). They're followed by Garrett College (111), Montgomery College (110), Chesapeake College (107), College of Southern Maryland (105), Hagerstown CC (87), Howard CC (79) Prince George's CC (64), Allegany College (59), CCBC-Catonsville (55), Frederick CC (55), CCBC-Dundalk (42) and Anne Arundel CC (37).

College football: Navy's Ken Niumatalolo is on the watch list for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award, which goes to the nation's top coach.

College wrestling: Maryland redshirt senior Billy Rappo, redshirt sophomore Alfred Bannister and sophomore Youssif Hemida were voted captains by their teammates with input from the coaching staff.

Women's college volleyball: Kelly Martin, a former player at West Chester who got her master's in exercise science at McDaniel last year, was named coach at St. Mary's, effective immediately. She steps in for interim coach Autumn Fisher, a 2016 St. Mary's graduate.


Women's college soccer: Stevenson freshman forward Juliana Portera (Bel Air) was named Eastern College Athletic Conference South Region Rookie of the Week.

Men's college cross country: UMES senior Khalil Rmidi Kinini was named Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Runner of the Week.

Women's cross country: Johns Hopkins jumped from fourth to first in the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association's Division III poll. The Blue Jays received all eight first-place votes.

Women's college swimming and diving: Mount St. Mary's was picked in the Northeast Conference coaches preseason poll to finish sixth. ... Loyola Maryland sophomore Lindsey Staszewski was named Patriot League Female Diver of the Week.

Junior colleges: The Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference selected Frederick Community College men's soccer player Maycol Nunez, College of Southern Maryland women's soccer player Alexis Porterfield and Howard Community College volleyball player Riley Forquer (Century) Student Athletes of the Month.

Varsity: Chloe Prejean of Heritage Academy in Hagerstown and Will Moten of Westlake in Waldorf were named Maryland's winners of the Wendy's High School Heisman Scholarship. They were chosen from among 20 state finalists who included Manchester Valley's Jayce Klingenberg, Beth Tfiloh's Teva Vogelstein, Old Mill's Kloie Walker and Western Tech's Ali Bhatti.