Baseball fans vote in 12 first-time All-Star starters

Aaron Judge, Carlos Correa and Nolan Arenado lead a new generation of All-Stars, among 12 first-time starters elected by fans for Tuesday's game at Marlins Park.

The dozen first-time starters are the most since voting was returned to fans in 1970. There could be a 13th first-time starter depending on who the National League selects as its designated hitter.

Two of the first-time starters are from the Houston Astros, who have the best record in the major leagues: Correa, the shortstop drafted first overall in 2012, and outfielder George Springer.

Cleveland's Jose Ramirez overtook Minnesota's Miguel Sano in the final days of balloting to win the AL third base spot by about 54,000 votes, Toronto's Justin Smoak bounced back to beat Kansas City's Eric Hosmer by 555,000 at first base, and Tampa Bay's Corey Dickerson rallied to win at designated hitter by nearly 75,000 over Seattle's Nelson Cruz. The Royals' Salvador Perez won at catcher.

Judge is the sixth first-time starter in the AL as voted by fans.


Arenado will be joined in the NL lineup by first-time starters Cincinnati shortstop Zack Cozart, Rockies outfielder Charlie Blackmon and Miami outfielder Marcell Ozuna. The Nationals' Ryan Zimmerman at first base and Daniel Murphy at second will also start for the first time.

There were 11 first-time starters last season in San Diego, the last year the winning league received home-field advantage in the World Series. Under baseball's new labor contract, the Series now starts in the ballpark of the pennant winner with the better record.

The AL had won four straight and went 11-3 in the years the All-Star Game determined World Series home field. Marlins Park is the third of four straight NL ballparks to host the All-Stars and will be followed by Washington in 2018.

Click on the above gallery to see the first-time All Stars.