Lacrosse Insider College lacrosse news, scores, schedules

Boston College's Sam Apuzzo, Yale's Ben Reeves named Tewaaraton Award winners

Boston College junior Sam Apuzzo and Yale senior Ben Reeves on Thursday night took home the Tewaaraton Award, college lacrosse’s version of the Heisman Trophy, which is given to the top women’s and men’s players.

Apuzzo and Reeves received their awards at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington.

Although Apuzzo and the Eagles lost the NCAA women’s championship game to James Madison, her season was dominant. She helped lead BC to a 22-2 record, scoring 88 goals and handing out 41 assists for 129 points.

She is the first winner from Boston College. Maryland players had won the previous six Tewaaraton Awards on the women’s side.

Reeves became the first player in program history to earn the honor since its inception in 2001 and was Yale’s first finalist. He became the second award winner to lead his team to the national title after Matt Rambo did the same for Maryland last spring, and previously joined Matt Danowski, Kyle Harrison, Michael Powell and Lyle Thompson as the only three-time men’s finalists.

The award completes a stellar season for Reeves, who finished with a nation-leading 115 points while ranking second in points per game with 5.8 and total goals with 62. The 115 points are the sixth-highest total in NCAA single-season history.

Other women’s finalists were James Madison senior attacker Kristen Gaudian, North Carolina senior midfielder Marie McCool, Stony Brook senior attacker Kylie Ohlmiller and Maryland senior attacker Megan Whittle (McDonogh).

Reeves stood out from a talented pool of candidates that included Denver senior faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste, Duke senior attackman Justin Guterding, Maryland senior midfielder Connor Kelly and Loyola Maryland junior attackman Pat Spencer (Boys’ Latin).

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad