Towson's Rohrback, Demski, LaMonica receive major CAA women's honors

Towson’s Ashleigh Rohrback and Alexa Demski received major awards and Sonia LaMonica was named Coach of the Year when Colonial Athletic Association officials announced postseason honors Thursday night.

Rorhback, a junior attacker from Liberty, shared Player of the Year honors with last year’s winner James Madison’s Casey Ancarrow (John Carroll) while Demski, a senior from Loch Raven, was named Co-Defensive Player of the year along with Hofstra’s April Ianetta.

LaMonica was named Coach of the Year for the third straight year after leading the Tigers to the CAA regular-season championship and the top-seeded spot in the tournament which begins Friday at Towson. The Tigers are 19-2 in CAA competition since she took over three years ago.

Tigers attacker Rhiannon Coogle (North Harford) was also named first-team All-CAA along with two other graduates of local high schools, James Madison attacker Amy Roguski and goalie Schylar Healy, both from Liberty.

Towson’s Paige Duncan (Broadneck), Kelsea Donnelly (South River) and Michelle Dufault were named to the second team that also included Delaware’s Chelsea Fay (John Carroll) and James Madison’s Lexi Cross (Liberty).

Towson’s Breanna Hamm made the All-Rookie Team.


Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad