Terps women sweep major ACC awards

One day after the Maryland women earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament, the Terps made a clean sweep of the major Atlantic Coast Conference awards.

Katie Schwarzmann and Iliana Sanza repeated as the Offensive Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year, respectively. Taylor Cummings was the Freshman of the Year and Cathy Reese earned Coach of the Year honors for a record sixth time, when the ACC individual awards were announced Monday.

All four are Baltimore-area natives and former All-Metro players.

Schwarzmann, who was the All-Metro Player of the Year her senior year at Century, is the reigning Tewaaraton Award winner. Last month, the senior midfielder became only the third player to earn All-ACC honors four times. The two-time ACC tournament Most Valuable Player, she had four assists in the No. 1 Terps’ 12-8 title-game win over North Carolina. One of 25 Tewaaraton nominees for this season, she has 51 goals and 23 assists.

Sanza, a St. Paul’s graduate, is also a Tewaaraton nominee. A key to a new defense this spring, the senior led a field unit that allowed just 8.32 goals per game – more than seven goals less than the Terps scored. She has 15 caused turnovers, 28 ground balls and 15 ground balls.

Cummings, a two-time All-Metro Player of the Year and two-time Baltimore Sun Female Athlete of the Year, picked up right where she left off at McDonogh. She contributed 2.53 points per game but was also a force in the midfield both ways. She won an average of 4.26 draws, fifth nationally among rookies. One of just two freshmen on the all-conference team, she is fourth on the team in scoring (36 goals, 12 assists), first in draw controls (81) and tied for first in caused turnovers (16).

Reese, a standout attacker at Mount Hebron and the All-Metro Player of the Year in 1994, went on to lead the Terps to four national championships as a player. As the Terps’ coach, she is 136-15 in seven years and guided the Terps to a record fifth straight ACC championship last month. At 19-0, the Terps are the only undfeated team in Division I. Maryland has reached the national semifinals the last four years and won the championship in 2010. On her watch, they have reached at least the NCAA quarterfinals every season.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad