Baltimore Sun’s BEST party in 2 weeks

Johns Hopkins, Maryland men's lacrosse unveil "The Rivalry Trophy" for series

Johns Hopkins, Maryland men's lacrosse to play for "The Rivalry Trophy" beginning with Saturday's game.

Johns Hopkins and Maryland announced this morning that they have added “The Rivalry Trophy” to their long-standing series in its first year in the Big Ten.

An homage to the Maryland blue crab, the 25-pound trophy measures 22 inches tall and 32 inches wide. The trophy will be awarded annually to the winning team following the regular-season meeting, beginning with Saturday’s game at 8 p.m. at Byrd Stadium in College Park between the Blue Jays (6-6 overall, 3-1 conference) and the No. 2 Terps (12-1, 4-0).

“It is not lost on our current staff and players or those who came before us that representing Johns Hopkins in the greatest rivalry in college lacrosse is an honor,” Johns Hopkins coach Dave Pietramala said in a written statement. “After more than 100 all-time meetings, it's not easy to add something to a rivalry that is already so intense and important to so many, yet the addition of the ‘The Rivalry Trophy’ does just that.  We look forward to the addition of this new and exciting chapter in the storied history of Hopkins-Maryland.”

Added Maryland coach John Tillman: “Our coaching staff and players consider it a great honor and privilege to compete in a rivalry that is much greater than ourselves. We are thrilled to add even more meaning to the Maryland-Johns Hopkins rivalry with the addition of the trophy.”

Saturday’s contest is meaningful for both sides. The Terps can capture the Big Ten regular-season championship outright with a victory. A win would give the Blue Jays a share of title with Maryland possibly No. 11 Ohio State (10-4, 3-1).

As one might expect, the programs disagree about the official series record. Johns Hopkins says it owns a 70-40-1 advantage in the rivalry, but Maryland contends that the mark is 63-40-1.

The Blue Jays have a similar reward in their series with Virginia. The Doyle Smith Cup, which has been awarded to the winner of the regular-season meeting since 2006, honors the memory of the former Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse manager who also served as director of media relations for the Cavaliers for 30 years.

And this is not the first trophy among Big Ten programs. The first three member schools to sponsor lacrosse – Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State – compete annually for The Creator’s Trophy which was established in 2012 and is given to the team that is 2-0 against the other programs.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad