High School sports

McCormick Unsung Heroes banquet to honor 113 high school athletes

The 78th Annual McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards Banquet will honor 113 high school athletes from all sports tonight at Martin's Valley Mansion in Cockeysville.

The athletes being honored for their efforts on and off the field represent 69 public, private and parochial schools from the Baltimore area. One male and one female each will receive the Charles Perry McCormick scholarship, which is worth $40,000 over four years of college. In addition, two $7,500 and two $5,000 scholarships will be awarded.


Last year's winners were Dulaney's Sean Herrin and Roland Park's Elizabeth Schlerf.

Former Dunbar basketball star Muggsy Bogues will give the keynote address. Bogues went on to play at Wake Forest and for the Charlotte Hornets and Toronto Raptors. He is an ambassador for the Hornets.


The 2018 Unsung Heroes Award honorees

Archbishop Curley, Seth Boyd

Archbishop Spalding, Audrey Donahower and Jacob Stramanak

Benjamin Franklin, Nathan Mister

Bluford Drew Jemison, Christopher McRae Jr.

Boys' Latin, Brandon Kagen

Bryn Mawr, Natalie Maranto

Calvert Hall, Josh Elliott


Carver, Zanaide Gaines

Carver A&T, Melissa Marini and Mathew Steininger

Catholic, Brooke Menikheim

Catonsville, Bailie Grace and Tim Pfeifer

Chesapeake-BC, Jéla Thomas and Kyle Witherspoon

City, A'janay Nicholson and Keon Moore


Concordia Prep, Abigail Stephens and William Needum

Digital Harbor, Brittney Bury and Johnny Miango

Douglass, Jasmin Levi and Shamal Webb

Dulaney, Lydia Naughton and Aaron Dow

Dunbar, Danyelle Taylor and Dwayne Johnson Jr.

Dundalk, Leah Mayfield and Abraham Zelaya


Eastern Tech, Natalie Bates and Anthony Akinrinmola

Edmondson, Infasia Davis and Adrian Lindsey

Forest Park, Britney Levy and Marcellius Garrison

Franklin, Hannah Graetz and Linwood Nicolas

Friends, Zoe Guill and Ethan Seifert

Friendship Academy, Mishon Byrd and Ramell Wilson


Gilman, Darien Lawson

Hereford, Erin Williams and Justin Smith

Institute of Notre Dame, Meghan Weatherly

John Carroll, Mary Adele Fraiji and Brett Raynor

Kenwood, Mollie Shomper and Walter Scheuerman III

Knowledge and Success Academy, Tyra Louis


Lake Clifton, Dayasia Mayo and Zy'hear Davis

Lansdowne, Kayla Custer and Steven Morris

Loch Raven, Khamiya Davis and Alex Bagster-Collins

Loyola Blakefield, Justin McKoy

Maryvale, Marlee White

McDonogh, Cassie Blyth and Alexi Thomas

Mercy, Rachael Huebler

Mervo, Cyara Howell and Jamar Mackell

Varsity Highlights

Varsity Highlights


Get the latest high school sports stories, photos and video from around the region.

Milford Mill, Kayla Cooper and Jordan Johnson

Mount Carmel, Abigail Klingenstein and Nicholas Rose

Mount de Sales, Malaina Dunn

Mount Saint Joseph, Naite Reese

New Era, Cameryn Garrison

New Town, Nia Blight and Daquwan Young

Notre Dame Preparatory, Mary Norris

Oldfields, Kellia Karambizi

Overlea, Wendy Portillo and Kairon Battle

Owings Mills, Nelsy Delgado Pineda and De Andre Moore

Parkville, Gabrielle Carter and Joey Madore

Patapsco,Destiny Smith and Javen Oliver

Patterson, Diana Mendez and Ronnae Miller

Perry Hall, Jade O'Connor and Francesco Rocha

Pikesville, Abigail Drager-Davidoff and Aaron Taule

Poly, Kaya Stokes and Montaze Cooper

Randallstown, Bianca Coates and Zarian Richardson

Reginald F. Lewis, Philip Manifold, III

Roland Park, Emma Sunderland

Severn, Inde Lauer and Charles Marculewicz

Southwestern, Khandi Harrison and Donnie Moore

Sparrows Point, Emily Vetri and Bruce Durant III

St. Frances, Davon Williams

St. Mary's, Meghan Yunger and Geoffrey Forsyth

St. Paul's, Michael Blandino

St. Paul's School for Girls, Tatum Teodori

Towson, Audra Lucas and Nicolas de Jesus


Western, Jasmen Walton

Western Tech, Garshe't Hatcher and Cameron O’Grady

Woodlawn, Qiyonte Brunson and Isaiah Marshall