Local football players honored at 54th Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner

For The Baltimore Sun
Five area student-athletes were selected at the 54th Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner.

Jonathan Marchineck's football career is likely over. The Hereford quarterback will head to Vanderbilt and study engineering starting this fall but he gave his high school lots of credit after being picked as one of the winners at the 54th annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner Wednesday night at Martin's West.

"We have one of the best schools around," Marchineck said. "Every aspect of our school is the best."

Marchineck's Bulls went 10-0 in the regular season and then lost to Dunbar in the second round of the playoffs in 2016. But the quarterback said he couldn't have done any of it without the support he receives at Hereford.

Overall, there were five regional winners, and Marchineck earned his honor along with Scott Dettloff (Fallston), Ryan Keller (Broadneck), Spencer Kirin (Liberty) and Eric Duguay (Severn). The dinner is sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Dettloff, Keller and Duguay are not yet sure where they'll be headed for college, but Kirin is going to Muhlenberg, where he hopes to continue his career. He played outside linebacker at Liberty.

Keller will study economics. Football was his lone sport, and he worked hard to play his best at Broadneck.

"I'm kind of surprised I got it," he said with a smile. "But I trained all year long for [football], and it paid off."

Each of the five winners receives $4,000 in scholarship money. There were 73 football scholar athletes nominated from Baltimore City and the following counties: Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford and Howard. A winner got selected from each of five regions (divided separately from the counties).

St. Frances, which finished No. 1 in The Baltimore Sun's poll after winning its first Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title, took home the A. Paul Menton Award, given to the top-rated high school program in the Greater Baltimore area.

In addition, the Ben Eaton Sr. Championship Award — named for the late Dunbar football coach — was given to Walkersville from Frederick County, which won the Class 2A state championship back in December.

Maryland coach DJ Durkin and Towson coach Rob Ambrose spoke at the event, which had about 750 people in attendance.

"It's good time to sit back and say 'Wow' for a minute," Durkin said. "You guys are up here for good reason."

As for the award winners, Marchineck was a first-team all-division and All-Baltimore County selection in 2016. He played both ways for the Bulls, is a member of the National Honor Society and is a captain of Hereford's baseball team.

Dettloff was a first-team All-Harford County and all-conference pick at Fallston, ranks number six in his class and is a National Honor Society member. He also plays baseball and was a Wendy's High School Heisman winner.

Keller is ranked number one in his class and was a team captain. He, too, is a member of the National Honor Society and is an AP Scholar.

Liberty's Kirin twice was voted first-team All-Carroll County as well as being a member of the National Honor Society. He also is on the baseball team and in the school band.

Duguay was a first-team all-conference pick for Severn and served as a team captain. He also earned spots in the National and Spanish Honor Societies and was a National Merit Scholar.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad