All-Metro boys lacrosse Coach of the Year David Earl of Severna Park.
All-Metro boys lacrosse Coach of the Year David Earl of Severna Park. (Courtesy photo)

This season, the No. 4 Falcons played exactly the way David Earl coached them to: fast, aggressively and precisely.

They were also perfect.


In Earl's third season, Severna Park went 20-0 in claiming its second straight Class 4A-3A state championship. With the Falcons' 7-6 win over Churchill in the title game, they ended the season with 37 straight wins dating to last year's 17-2 campaign.

It was the program's seventh state title and second undeafeated season, with the first coming in 2010 under coach Larry Kramer.

A season filled with highlights included wins over Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference foes Archbishop Spalding and Severn — avenging both of last season's losses — and the thrilling victory over Churchill. Going into the title game, the Falcons outscored their four playoff opponents by a 19-6 average margin.

With a dominant attack led by All-Metro senior Trevor Patschorke and quality depth, the Falcons thrived in Earl's system that features high pressure and a fast pace that wore teams down. During practice scrimmages, Earl started a 10-second shot clock once the attack settled to encourage speedy and efficient play.

"It was a talented group and we wanted to play fast, so the goal in practice was getting them a ton of reps, which they really responded to," Earl said. "We had a lot of fun with that and I think when the kids have fun it makes the coach's job a lot easier. I just can't say enough about the kids — they were highly motivated, wanted to get better and wanted to win, and that all came out in practice."

Earl applauded the support he received from the school's administration and praised the work of his coaching staff, which included Willy Downs, Jake Derlink, Todd Wolffrum, Walter Dearborn and Alex Hutchison.