High School sports

Baltimore Catholic League Hall of Fame to induct 11 new members May 3

Former St. Frances standout Shawn Hampton, shown driving to the basket during a 1998 game at Towson Catholic, is among eight players who will be inducted into the Baltimore Catholic League Hall of Fame on May 3.

The Baltimore Catholic League, one of the most prominent boys basketball leagues in the country, will induct eight players, one coach, one contributor and one legend at its annual Hall of Fame Banquet, set for 6:30 p.m. May 3 at Turf Valley Resort in Ellicott City.

UMBC men's basketball coach Ryan Odom, whose Retrievers last month became the first No. 16 seed to beat a No. 1 seed (Virginia) in NCAA Division I men's tournament history, will serve as keynote speaker.


The eight players to be inducted are Jake Davalli (Calvert Hall, 1989), Bob Fornoff (Archbishop Curley, 1981), Shawn Hampton (St. Frances, 1998), Delmar Harrod Jr. (Mount Saint Joseph, 1976), Kenny Johnson (Loyola Blakefield, 1981), Quintin Moody (Cardinal Gibbons, 1992), Mark Scallion (St. Maria Goretti, 1983) and Teddy Walker (Towson Catholic, 1973).

Towson Catholic's Mike Daniel will be inducted as a coach. 1960 Loyola Blakefield graduate Jim "Snuffy" Smith will enter as a contributor, and 1965 Mount Saint Joseph grad Dick Dohler as a legend.


The banquet is open to the public, with tickets $75 per person and $750 per table of 10.

For ticket information, contact Mark Rohde Sr. at 410-963-0534 or Purchase tickets online at

The BCL was established in 1971, and its Hall of Fame, founded in 2011, honors past players, coaches, administrators and contributors.