Spalding’s Cam Whitmore named 2021 Baltimore Catholic League Player of the Year

Archbishop Spalding junior forward Cam Whitmore broke through last season as a sophomore, earning mention on the All-Baltimore Catholic League first team.

This year, the explosive 6-foot-5 standout continued his upward trend.


Time and time again in this condensed regular season, Whitmore was the league’s most dominant player, leading the Cavaliers to an 11-2 mark and the second seed in the playoffs. His always consistent and often dazzling play earned him the BCL’s Jerry Savage Player of the Year Award.

St. Frances’ Nick Myles, who guided the Panthers to a perfect 13-0 regular-season record, was named the O. Ray Mullis Coach of the Year. Mount Carmel senior forward Kevin Kalu was named the Mark Amatucci Defensive Player of the Year, while Loyola Blakefield junior forward Gavin Walsh was recognized as the Cokey Robertson Most Improved Player of the Year.


Joining Whitmore on the All-BCL first team are St. Frances teammates Khyrie Staten, a senior guard, and Derik Queen, a freshman center; Mount Saint Joseph senior guard D’Angelo Stines; Mount Carmel junior guard Deon Perry; John Carroll senior guard Jalen Bryant; and Calvert Hall sophomore guard Mike Williams.

In staking claim to the league’s top honor, Whitmore, in his third varsity season, averaged 22.0 points and 11.7 rebounds a game, showing a willingness to grow as a player and emerge as a team leader.

He becomes the third Cavalier to be named league Player of the Year, joining Derrick Snowden (1999-2000) and Rudy Gay (2003-04).

“His athleticism stands apart. In 25 years of coaching he’s one of the most athletic players I’ve ever had,” Spalding coach Josh Pratt said. “He’s always under control. Maybe one of my guys is going in the lane and misses a layup and all of a sudden here he comes to follow it up. His athleticism just gets better and better and I think his perimeter shooting has gotten better. He’s trusting his 3-point shot more and when he hits shots like that, it just helps everybody else in opening up the floor.”

Named to the All-BCL second team were Loyola’s Walsh and teammate Cam Smith; Mount Carmel teammates Kevin Kalu and Toby Nnadozie; Mount Saint Joseph’s Bryson Tucker; and St. Frances’ Julian Reese. Honorable mentions were John Carroll’s Tyson Commander and Cesar Tchilombo; Spalding’s Ty Peterson and Jordan Pennick; Mount Saint Joseph’s Ausar Crawley; and St. Maria Goretti’s Vincent Payne and Jordan Green.

The selections were based on voting by league coaches and officials and selected media members.

Each team selected a player as recipient of the Dave Kropfelder “Never, Never Quit” Award: Jalen Bouknight, Archbishop Spalding; Jason Ogbolu, Calvert Hall; Jaiden Jakubowski, John Carroll; John Dixon, Loyola Blakefield; Dominick McKinney-George, Mount Carmel; Sean Carr, Mount Saint Joseph; Caleb Obannon, St. Frances; and Chris Abissi, St. Maria Goretti.

The 50th anniversary BCL playoffs open Monday with quarterfinal round play. Here’s a look at the complete schedule:



Monday, March 22 Quarterfinals

(all games at 6 p.m.)

8 Calvert Hall at 1 St. Frances

7 St. Maria Goretti at 2 Archbishop Spalding

6 John Carroll at 3 Mount St. Joseph


5 Loyola at 4 Mount Carmel

Varsity Highlights


Get the latest high school sports stories, photos and video from around the region.

Wednesday, March 24 Semifinals

(site TBA)

6/3 winner vs. 7/2 winner, 5:30 p.m.

5/4 winner vs. 8/1 winner, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, March 26 Championship


(site TBA)

Semifinal winners, 6 p.m.