Right-hander Mike Willis pitched five scoreless innings in relief and Max Costes drove in the winning run with a sacrifice fly in the fourth inning as host Gilman upset previously undefeated and No. 1 John Carroll, 3-2, in Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference baseball play Monday.

Willis, who took to the mound at the start of the third inning with the game tied at 2, allowed one hit and retired the last seven batters. Gilman is 8-10 overall and 6-6 in the MIAA A, while the Patriots (16-1) fell to 11-1 in league play.


Costes finished with two hits and drove in two runs.

— Glenn Graham

Horse racing

Quip, Gronkowski out of next week's Derby

Before we have any idea which horse will arrive in Baltimore as the Kentucky Derby champion, we know one who's likely to line up as a fresh contender to knock him off. That would be Quip, the Arkansas Derby runner-up, whose connections announced Monday that he'd skip Churchill Downs on May 5 and point to the May 19 Preakness . Though he could not run down top Derby contender Magnum Moon in the Arkansas Derby on April 14, Quip has three wins in five career starts and would be a respectable challenger to the Derby champion.

— Childs Walker

More: Gronkowski won't run in the Kentucky Derby because of a slight infection that will keep the England-based colt from traveling to the United States. New England Patriots star Rob Gronkowski recently bought an interest in his namesake.

Women's college basketball

Navy's Clark, Spalding grad, transferring to Richmond

Largely because of her concern about not receiving her preferred service assignment, women's basketball player Kaila Clark (Archbishop Spalding) decided to transfer from the Naval Academy. Clark is transferring to Richmond and will have two seasons of eligibility after sitting out the 2018-19 season, according to NCAA rules. Arthur Clark told the Baltimore Sun Media Group his daughter had dreamed of flying after graduating from the academy but learned that path was not likely to happen. The 5-foot-11 forward started all 33 games as a sophomore and led the Mids with 8.3 rebounds per game and 69 blocks while ranking third in scoring with 7.8 points.

— Bill Wagner

Men's college lacrosse

Loyola Md., Navy take four of six Patriot League awards

No. 8 Loyola Maryland and No. 11 Navy, the top two seeds in the Patriot League men's lacrosse tournament, picked up four of the conference's six major awards. Greyhounds junior attackman Pat Spencer (Boys' Latin) was named Offensive Player of the Year, senior defenseman Foster Huggins was selected as Defensive Player of the Year, and junior Jacob Stover (McDonogh) was chosen as Goalkeeper of the Year. Midshipmen senior Joe Varello earned Faceoff Specialist of the Year honors. Loyola senior midfielder Jay Drapeau and senior short-stick defensive midfielder Brian Begley, as well as Navy junior midfielder and Glen Burnie resident Greyson Torain and senior defenseman Michael Strack, were named first-team All-Patriot League. Greyhounds junior midfielder John Duffy and Mids junior midfielder Ryan Wade, sophomore goalkeeper Ryan Kern and senior short-stick defensive midfielder D.J. Plumer earned spots on the second team. The Patriot League first team also included Army West Point junior defenseman Johnny Surdick, an Odenton native, and Lehigh junior long-stick midfielder Craig Chick (South River). Boston University attackman Chris Gray was named Rookie of the Year, while Bucknell's Frank Fedorjaka was honored as Coach of the Year.


— Edward Lee

Varsity basketball

BCL Hall of Fame to induct 11 new members May 3

The Baltimore Catholic League will induct eight players, one coach, one contributor and one legend at its annual Hall of Fame Banquet, set for 6:30 p.m. on May 3 at Turf Valley Resort in Ellicott City. UMBC men's basketball coach Ryan Odom, whose Retrievers last month became the first No. 16 seed to beat a No. 1 seed (Virginia) in NCAA Division I men's tournament history, will serve as keynote speaker. The eight players to be inducted are Jake Davalli (Calvert Hall, 1989), Bob Fornoff (Archbishop Curley, 1981), Shawn Hampton (St. Frances, 1998), Delmar Harrod Jr. (Mount Saint Joseph, 1976), Kenny Johnson (Loyola Blakefield, 1981), Quintin Moody (Cardinal Gibbons, 1992), Mark Scallion (St. Maria Goretti, 1983) and Teddy Walker (Towson Catholic, 1973). Towson Catholic's Mike Daniel will be inducted as a coach. 1960 Loyola Blakefield graduate Jim "Snuffy" Smith will enter as a contributor, and 1965 Mount Saint Joseph grad Dick Dohler as a legend. The banquet is open to the public, with tickets $75 per person and $750 per table of 10. For ticket information, contact Mark Rohde Sr. at 410-963-0534 or mark.rohde@jpbpartners.com. Purchase tickets online at varsitysportsnetwork.com/baltimore-catholic-league.

— Glenn Graham

Recommended on Baltimore Sun