All-Carroll County boys basketball teams

Sun Staff

Brett BurrierWinters Mill

This senior forward raised his game to a new level for the Falcons by adding inside punch to his outside flair. Noted in past seasons mainly for his perimeter shooting, the 6-foot-5 Burrier this winter emerged as more of all-around threat, showing vast improvement in his play down low to average a Carroll County-best 20 points per game and rank among the county's leaders with 7.5 rebounds.

He also shot 51 percent from the field, including a county-best 46 percent from three-point range, and even filled in as the team's back-up point guard for a month. He finished his high school career as Winters Mill's all-time leading scorer, and will most likely attend a prep school next season in the hopes of eventually becoming a Division I college player.

Dave HermanWinters Mill

What could have been a disastrous season for Herman's team turned into one to remember, with the Falcons (18-5) finishing 6-0 in Carroll County and claiming a Monocacy Valley Athletic League Piedmont Conference title. The season began with starting guard Devon Lesniak fracturing both wrists against Century in early December. He wound up missing a total of six weeks over two stints.

Then, in late January, Herman dismissed starting point guard Jimmy Dorsey, the reigning county Player of the Year, for violating a team rule. Despite all the adversity, the Falcons never stumbled, rolling to their third straight county title.

Herman, who has coached Winters Mill since the school's opening in 2002, credited players who were able to adjust to multiple positions, helping fill the voids.

First teamName School Class Pos.

Chuck Andrews Century Senior Guard

Kevin Carr Westminster Senior Guard

Steve Janowitz North Carroll Senior Guard

Brett Burrier Winters Mill Senior Forward

Brandon Eckard F. Scott Key Senior Forward

Brett Harman Westminster Senior Forward

Colton Weaver Liberty Junior Forward

Cammeron Woodyard Winters Mill Junior Forward

Second teamName School Class Pos.

Devon Lesniak Winters Mill Junior Guard

Ryan Miller Liberty Junior Guard

Andre Powell F. Scott Key Senior Guard

Spencer Sleight Liberty Junior Guard

Brandon Beccio Century Senior Forward

A.J. Capece North Carroll Senior Forward

Cody Simmons Westminster Senior Forward

Matt Duerr Century Soph. Center

Note // Teams selected by Rich Scherr after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad