All-Baltimore City: Volleyball

Sun staff

Player of the Year Erin Cox, Poly

Cox, the city's premier player, stood out with her powerful, well-placed hits. The 5-foot-9 senior outside hitter averaged 2.1 kills a game in leading the Engineers to the city championship and the Class 3A state semifinals.
She had seven kills and seven digs in the semifinal, a three-game loss to eventual champion Rising Sun. She also had 10 kills in the city title match, a three-game sweep of Digital Harbor.
Cox, a four-year varsity player, grew into a leader this season, and her teammates responded to the momentum she built on the court. Focused and determined, Cox brought more than just a powerhouse spike. She also averaged two blocks per game and had 110 aces for the season.
Cox plays club volleyball with Time Out for Sports. She plans to play in college and is considering a couple of schools.

Coach of the Year Kendall Peace, Poly

In her fourth season as the Engineers' coach, Peace guided them to the best finish in school history. In addition to winning the city championship, the Engineers reached the state Class 2A semifinals for the first time. The Engineers took an unbeaten record into the state tournament before falling to eventual champion Rising Sun to finish the season 18-1.

Peace had a strong foundation in senior hitters Erin Cox and Elisha Clayton, and she helped even the youngest player grow.

"Everything all clicked at the same time," Peace. said "[The veterans] had the attitude that they weren't going to settle for losing." Peace, who also coaches basketball and junior varsity softball at Poly, has a 60-10 career record with the Engineers.

CITY PLAYERS ON IAAM TEAM: A Conference: IND: Caitlin Bopp. Seton Keough: Christina Greenway. B Con ference: Bryn Mawr: Theo Mattai, Carly Chafey. Roland Park: Patty Redfield. Mercy: Natalie Zoppo. C Confer ence: Friends: Lizzy Frost, Elaine Kwon. Catholic: Jackie Dillard.

Note: Player and Coach of the Year were selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches. The IAAM team was selected through voting by league coaches.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad