2003 All-Metro Girls Cross Country Teams

Sun staff

Runner of the Year: Lauren Centrowitz, Broadneck

Bruins coach Dana Dobbs knows it may be a long time before he comes across another runner of Centrowitz's caliber.

In four trips to the Class 4A state championships, the senior placed ninth in her first year, second in her second and first in her third and fourth. Centrowitz won every multi-team invitational for the second straight year.

She was first at the Knights Invitational (18 minutes, 24 seconds) and the Doc Jones Anne Arundel County Invitational (18:39). Centrowitz's victory in 19:31.5 at the Anne Arundel County championships made her just the second county runner in more than two decades to claim three straight titles.

After taking top honors at the East region meet in 19:58.0, Centrowitz's winning time of 19:02 at the state championships is the fourth-fastest mark at Hereford High's course. A three-time Anne Arundel County Runner of the Year, Centrowitz is the All-Metro Runner of the Year for a second consecutive season.

Coach of the Year: Dana Dobbs, Broadneck

Dobbs' Bruins proved that last season's run to Broadneck's first Class 4A state crown was no fluke. Despite No. 3 Severna Park's stunning upset at the Anne Arundel County championships, Broadneck, which had rolled through the county meets and the Knights and Doc Jones Anne Arundel County invitationals, regrouped and swept the region and state titles for the second consecutive year. Managing the area's top-ranked team, which includes standouts Lauren Centrowitz and Emily Nagle, may sound easy, but Dobbs has been instrumental in developing talent. As he did with Nagle and Kasey Jamison last fall, Dobbs found another skilled runner in freshman Tait Woodward. Even as Centrowitz and Susan St. Cyr graduate next spring, the Bruins will likely reload with talent from a large JV pool.

First Team

Allison Barnes, C. Milton Wright

Freshmen aren't supposed to win state titles, are they? Tell that to Barnes, who captured the Class 3A state crown in 19:47. She also took home a gold medal from the North region meet (18:42.71) after missing the Harford County championships with a leg strain. Barnes, who was second at the Harford Invitational (18:46.82) and third at the Spiked Shoe (21:39.19), is the Harford County Runner of the Year.

Kelli Buck, C. Milton Wright

For much of the season, Buck was the catalyst for a No. 2 Mustangs squad that didn't lose until the state meet. The junior accumulated first-place honors at Spiked Shoe (20:55.39), the Harford Invitational (18:33.21) and the Harford County championships (18:29.35). The county title was her second consecutive crown. Buck, a two-time All-Metro pick, was second to Barnes at the region (19:01.70) and state (20:02) championships.

Lauren Capone, Towson

Few runners produced more surprising results than Capone. The sophomore opened her first season of cross country by winning the Barnhardt Memorial Invitational in 19:51.80.

After finishing 10th in 19:40.55 at the Harford Invitational, Capone took the Baltimore County championships in 19:18. She was fifth at the Class 3A North region (19:14.12) and state (20:24) championships.

Marissa McPhail, Arundel

Wildcats coach Chris Shelby said McPhail was so strong that she regularly practiced with the boys. The sophomore won the Meade Autumn Classic in 19:14 and the Division II race at the Georgetown Prep Classic in 19:23.27. McPhail also placed second at the Anne Arundel County championships (20:10.2), third at the Class 4A East region meet (20:48.0) and fourth at the state championships (19:51).

Emily Nagle, Broadneck

Nagle might be the best No. 2 runner in the state. The junior is one-half of the Bruins' one-two punch with Centrowitz, but Nagle is a considerable match for any runner. Never finishing out of the top six in five major meets, Nagle was third at the county championships (20:28.5) and the Doc Jones Anne Arundel County Invitational (20:23). She placed second at the region meet (20:29.0) and sixth at the state championships (20:05).

Stephanie Newton, Severna Park

Newton's leadership was on display when her fourth-place showing at the Anne Arundel County championships led the Falcons to an upset of Broadneck for Severna Park's 15th county title in 18 years. The senior won the Class 3A South region crown in 19:31. Other efforts included second-place outings at the Knights Invitational (19:39) and the Meade Autumn Classic (19:37). Newton was third at the state championships (20:10).

Trisha Repsher, Westminster

The Owls' youth was embodied by Repsher's first foray into cross country. The sophomore ran fearlessly, compiling three straight runner-up showings at the Westminster (20:37), Run From the Lions Den (21:41) and Lancer (19:14.3) invitationals. Repsher broke through at the Carroll County championships, winning the title in 21:35.56. After placing first at the Class 4A North region meet in 19:02, Repsher was third at the state championships (19:41).

Glenna Sullivan, Maryvale

Sullivan garnered her third consecutive appearance on the All-Metro team by winning the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland championship in 19:48 - her second title in three years. The junior also took the gold medal at the Mid-Atlantic Classic in 20:32. Sullivan, who was second at the St. John's (20:09) and the Lake Forest (19:50) invitationals, is the Baltimore City/County Runner of the Year.

Kelly Sullivan, Maryvale

Sullivan joins her twin sister on the All-Metro team after finishing no worse than sixth in seven major meets. The junior won the St. John's Invitational in 20:09. Sullivan also finished second at the IAAM championships (19:56) and the Division I race at the Georgetown Prep Classic (19:42.08). Sullivan, who was third in the B race at the William & Mary Invitational (18:16), makes her second straight appearance on the All-Metro team.

Second Team

Name School Class

Natalie Bond Dulaney Senior

Michelle Donadio Franklin Sophomore

Chelsea Kapp Glenelg Senior

Liz McCarter Mount Hebron Freshman

Amy Morlock Perry Hall Sophomore

Laura Paulsen Bryn Mawr Sophomore

Megan Ravenscraft C. Milton Wright Sophomore

Alison Smith Atholton Freshman

Julia Wagner Bel Air Sophomore

Amy Watson North Carroll Sophomore

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad