Archbishop Spalding girls win rain-shortened IAAM golf championship

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

In its first season with a girls golf team, Archbishop Spalding on Tuesday won the rain-shortened Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference championship.

The Cavaliers' win ended a run of six-straight titles by Roland Park.


An "unplayable" Fox Hollow Golf Course forced the IAAM to cancel the second day of play and use Monday's first round scores to determine the title winner.

"What we saw was that the greens were unplayable," Friends School athletic director Greg Whitley and IAAM golf commissioner said. "If we went back out and played, it wouldn't have been fair. After talking to all the coaches, we came to a consensus."


Members of the Spalding girls golf team played on the school's junior varsity boys team last season.

"We knew we would have a very good team. The girls were playing at a high level last year from the boys tees," Cavaliers coach Rick Young said. "When they went to the shorter tees, they started making a lot more birdies."

Spalding junior Micaa Thomas made three birdies Monday en route to a two-under-par 34 which lifted her to the individual title. She finished one shot ahead of teammate Sydney Mills.

Varsity Highlights


Get the latest high school sports stories, photos and video from around the region.

"I tried to take it one shot at a time, make pars and just let the birdies come," Thomas said. "I've been working hard ever since we started a girls team and it's amazing to win."

Institute of Notre Dame won the B Conference team title. Garrison Forest's Ellen Kirk Jarosinski shot a two-over par 38 to win the individual title by six strokes.

IAAM golf championship

A conference team results: 1. Archbishop Spalding, 65; 2. Bryn Mawr, 76; 3. Roland Park, 78; 4. McDonogh, 80; 5. Notre Dame Prep, 89; 6. Catholic, 109

A conference individual results: 1. Micaa Thomas, 34, Spalding; 2. Sydney Mills, 35, Spalding; 3. Charlotte Simpson, 36, Bryn Mawr; 4. Mary Bryan Owen, 37, Roland Park; 5. Brandie Hartzell, 38, Spalding


B conference team results: 1. Institute of Notre Dame, 83; 2. Garrison Forest, 85; 3. Mount de Sales, 89; 4. Mercy, 99; 5. St. Paul's, 100; 6. St. Timothy's, 104; 7. Seton Keough, 109

B conference individual results: 1. Ellen Kirk Jarosinski, 38, Garrison Forest; 2. Karolina Walls, 44, Institute of Notre Dame; 3. Jess Carter, 47, Institute of Notre Dame; 4. Emmy Saathoff, 48, Institute of Notre Dame; 5. Alison Farmer, 49, Mount de Sales