All-Anne Arundel County: Boys cross country

Runner of the Year

Zach Sullivan, Archbishop Spalding

Sullivan turned in a number of impressive performances in his senior year, including setting the meet record in the Knights Invitational at Baybrook Park in September. Some of Sullivan's best work came in big meets at the end of the season. Battling an ankle injury, he won the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title and helped the Cavaliers to a second-place finish. Sullivan topped it off with a victory in the state private schools meet, just three days after winning the tough MIAA race.

Coach of the Year

Brent Rawson, Annapolis Area Christian

Rawson has quickly turned around the cross country program at AACS. The Eagles had never won anything in cross country -- or even been close -- until Rawson took over. Rawson, in his second season, convinced a bunch of kids to come out for the team and take running seriously, and the program has taken off. AACS won its second straight MIAA B Conference title, emphasizing the pack and team running concept to easily beat out the rest of the field. In the championship race, the Eagles placed four runners in the top 10 -- even though David Crout (fourth) was the top finisher.
The team Name, School, Class
David Crout, AACS, Sophomore
Josh Day, Meade, Senior
Andrew Finlayson, Severna Park, Senior
Will Neal, Chesapeake-AA, Junior
Christian Smooth, Annapolis, Senior
J.R. Spencer, Archbishop Spalding, Senior
Zach Sullivan, Archbishop Spalding, Senior
Ryan Topita, Archbishop Spalding, Senior
Cody Vernon, Old Mill, Sophomore
Nic Walsh, South River, Junior

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun