Maryland's Katie Schwarzmann wins second straight Tewaaraton Award

Maryland's Katie Schwarzmann wins second straight Tewaaraton Award
Maryland midfielder Katie Schwarzmann runs with the ball past North Carolina attacker Abbey Friend during the second half of the NCAA title game. (Rich Barnes, USA TODAY Sports)

Katie Schwarzmann became the fourth two-time winner of the Tewaaraton Award Thursday.

The Maryland senior midfielder and Cornell's Rob Pannell were honored as the top players in collegiate lacrosse Thursday night at the 13th-annual award ceremony at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington.

"We are excited to recognize Rob and Katie, who completed two of the more remarkable careers in college lacrosse history this season," said Jeffrey Harvey, who chairs the Tewaaraton Foundation. "It was a joy to watch all of our 10 finalists compete, and we congratulate them all on an outstanding season."

Schwarzmann, a Sykesville native and Century graduate, joined former Northwestern midfielders Kristen Kjellman (2006-07) and Hannah Nielsen (2008-09) as the only players to earn the honor in back-to-back years. Syracuse's Mike Powell won in 2002 and 2004.

Schwarzmann was named the Division I Midfielder of the Year for the third straight year. She is a three-time first-team All American, a four-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference choice, and a two-time ACC Offensive Player of the Year.

Schwarzmann finished the season ranked second among the Terps in goals (58) and assists (27) and graduated as only the third player in school history to accumulate more than 300 career points. Schwarzmann helped top-seeded Maryland reach Sunday night's NCAA tournament final, where the Terps lost to third-seeded North Carolina, 13-12, in three overtimes.

Schwarzmann beat out North Carolina senior midfielder Katie Cannizzaro, Maryland senior attacker Alex Aust (Attacker of the Year), Florida senior goalkeeper Mikey Meagher and Syracuse junior attacker Alyssa Murray for the award.

Cannizarro might have been Schwarzmann's stiffest competition, as she had recorded 16 goals and five assists in the NCAA tournament, posting at least five points in each of the four postseason games en route to being named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. She finished with 61 goals, 22 assists and 30 caused turnovers, set the school record for points in a season, and propelled the team to its first national championship.

Pannell — a fifth-year senior attackman who last week was named the winner of the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as the Outstanding Player of the Year — joins Max Seibald as Cornell players to win the Tewaaraton.

Pannell is just the third player to receive the award despite not playing in the national championship game (the others were Colgate attackman Peter Baum in 2012 and Hofstra midfielder Doug Shanahan in 2001).

Pannell wrapped up his career with 344 points, passing former Duke attackman Matt Danowski to become the NCAA's all-time leader in that department. Pannell's 102 points this season (47 goals and 55 assists) are the most by a Tewaaraton Award winner.

Pannell, who had five goals and two assists in Cornell's season-ending 16-14 loss to seventh-seeded Duke in Saturday's national semifinal, graduated as the program's leading scorer in the NCAA tournament with 55 points, shattering the previous record of 46 posted by Eamon McEneaney.

Pannell is a three-time first-team All American who also became the Ivy League's first three-time Player of the Year. He joined Danowski, Colgate's Brandon Corp and Army's Tim Pearson as three-time Player of the Year winners in their respective conferences.

Pannell edged North Carolina senior attackman Marcus Holman (Gilman), Syracuse senior midfielder JoJo Marasco, Princeton junior midfielder Tom Schreiber (Outstanding Midfielder) and Albany sophomore attackman Lyle Thompson (Outstanding Attackman) for the award.