Digest (April 29): Loyola Maryland men's lacrosse star Pat Spencer sets Patriot League record

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

Loyola Maryland senior attackman Pat Spencer became the first player in Patriot League history to be named the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year four times, it was announced Monday.

The Davidsonville native and Boys’ Latin graduate is a two-time Tewaaraton Award finalist and the only player in NCAA Division I history to rank in the Top 20 in points (second), assists (tied for second) and goals (20th) per game.


Loyola senior Jacob Stover, a Hunt Valley resident and McDonogh graduate, joined Navy’s Matt Russell and Lehigh’s Matt Poillon as the only players to earn back-to-back Goalkeeper of the Year honors. Loyola midfielder Chase Scanlan was recognized as the Rookie of the Year, and Charley Toomey was cited as the Coach of the Year.

Sophomore attackman Kevin Lindley and junior long-stick midfielder Ryan McNulty joined Spencer, Stover and Scanlan on the first team, and freshman defenseman Cam Wyers was placed on the second team.


Navy senior midfielders Greyson Torain, a Glen Burnie resident, and Ryan Wade were also selected to the first team as was Lehigh senior defenseman Craig Chick, an Edgewater resident and South River graduate. Army West Point senior defenseman Johnny Surdick, an Odenton resident, was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Army senior goalkeeper A.J. Barretto, a Darlington resident and St. Paul’s graduate, was named to the second team.

Women’s college lacrosse: Navy junior Kelly Larkin (Attacker of the Year) and Loyola Maryland seniors Taylor VanThof (Midfielder of the Year), Lindsey Ehrhardt (Defensive Player of the Year) and Kady Glynn (Goalkeeper of the Year) were honored by the Patriot League. The Greyhounds’ Jen Adams was picked Coach of the Year. … Delaware coach Kateri Linville will not return next season, the school announced. In nine seasons, Linville compiled a 79-75 record, including a 28-28 mark in the Colonial Athletic Association.

Honors: Washington Redskins great Charles Mann, two-time Olympic gold medalist swimmer Tom Dolan and national title-winning Maryland coaches Cathy Reese and Sasho Cirovski are among the 10 members of the 2019 class of the D.C. Sports Hall of Fame. The group will be honored during a ceremony at Nationals Park before the Nationals’ game against the Atlanta Braves on June 23. The Stanley Cup champion Washington Capitals will also become the first team recognized by the Hall.

— Scott Allen, The Washington Post

Women’s college basketball: Four Maryland players will travel to Las Vegas this weekend to play in the USA Basketball 3x3 national championship. Shakira Austin, Stephanie Jones (Aberdeen), Taylor Mikesell and Blair Watson will compete as a Maryland team in the 13-team event Friday and Saturday. The event also will serve as the USA Basketball 3x3 national team trials, as all eligible athletes will be in consideration for selection to the 2019 U.S. Pan American Games 3x3 basketball team.

NFL: The Green Bay Packers released guard Nico Siragusa. Siragusa was signed off the Ravens’ practice squad Dec. 12 but was inactive for the final three games of the season.

Baltimore Sun staff and news services contributed to this article.