College notebook (Jan. 28): Loyola Maryland, Navy women's lacrosse picked to top Patriot League

Loyola Maryland's Kara Burke moves the ball past Navy's Molly Doyle in the first half of the Greyhounds 14-4 win over the Mids at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on April 19, 2015.
Loyola Maryland's Kara Burke moves the ball past Navy's Molly Doyle in the first half of the Greyhounds 14-4 win over the Mids at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on April 19, 2015. (By Paul W. Gillespie / Baltimore Sun Media Group)

The Greyhounds and Mids were picked to finish first and second, respectively, in a preseason poll of the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

Loyola received 18 first-place votes and 162 points. Navy had two first-place votes and 144 points, followed by Boston University (122), Colgate (118) and Lehigh (104).


Greyhounds senior Maddy Lesher was named preseason Defensive Player of the Year. Senior goalkeeper Molly Wolf (Bryn Mawr) and junior defender Bailey Mathis joined Lesher on the 12-member preseason team, which also included Navy senior attacker Katie Gallagher (C. Milton Wright), sophomore midfielder Jenna Collins (River Hill) and senior defender Lizzy Rullan.

Loyola Maryland and Navy were picked to finish first and second, respectively, in the Patriot League in men's lacrosse in a preseason poll of the league's coaches and sports information directors.

Navy football awarded Lambert Trophy: Navy athletic director Chet Gladchuk is quite familiar with the prestigious Lambert Trophy, which has been awarded annually to the top football team in the Eastern region since 1936.


Gladchuk's father and namesake was an All-America member of the 1940 Boston College team that received the Lambert Trophy. Coach Frank Leahy led the so-called "Team of Destiny" to an undefeated season, outscoring opponents 320-52.

Chet Gladchuk was an associate athletic director at Syracuse in 1987 when it fielded a Lambert Trophy-winning squad. Coach Dick MacPherson and quarterback Don McPherson directed an 11-0-1 season that ended with a tie against Auburn in the Sugar Bowl.

"Having been an athletic director at several East Coast schools, the Lambert Trophy has special meaning to me," Gladchuk said. "It's a big part of the heritage and tradition of what college football means in the East."

Navy has been selected to receive the prestigious Lambert Trophy, awarded annually to the top team in the East

Needless to say, no one was more thrilled than Gladchuk when it was announced Thursday that Navy had been selected as winner of the Lambert Trophy. It marked the first time since 1963 and only the sixth time in program history the Midshipmen have earned the award.


Coach Ken Niumatalolo, along with co-captains Keenan Reynolds and Bernie Sarra, will formally receive the trophy at the Eastern College Athletic Conference Football Awards Banquet on Feb. 25 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J. Reynolds will also be presented the ECAC Offensive Player of the Year Award.

"This is a very distinguished and meaningful tribute to one of the most accomplished teams in Navy football history," Gladchuk said.

Navy set a single-season school record with 11 wins and captured the Commander-in-Chief's Trophy by beating service academy rivals Army and Air Force. The Mids went 6-1 in their inaugural year of competition in the American Athletic Conference and shared the West Division title with Houston.

Navy defeated Pittsburgh in the Military Bowl and was ranked 18th in the final Associated Press poll. That marked the Mids' highest final ranking in the AP poll since 1963.

"Obviously, this is a tremendous honor for our football program and the institution," Niumatalolo said. "When you talk about being the top football team on the entire East Coast, that's a big deal."

Standout two-way lineman Tom Lynch was captain and Roger Staubach was the star quarterback of Navy's 1963 team that finished 9-2 after losing to Texas in the Cotton Bowl for the national championship.

"I wasn't even born the last time Navy won the Lambert Trophy, so that really puts this honor in perspective," Niumatalolo said.

—Bill Wagner,

Baltimore Sun Media Group

Maryland freshman, 2016 commit make U-19 men's lacrosse team: Terps freshman Austin Henningsen and commit Jared Bernhardt have been named to the final 25-man U.S. roster.

The team will travel to Coquitlam, British Columbia, for the Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship on July 7-16. Two of the 25 will be named alternates. The team will convene for training June 4-5 in the Baltimore area, followed by another training camp July 2-5 in Seattle.

Two Terps baseball players named preaseason All-Big Ten: Maryland junior right-handed pitcher Mike Shawaryn and sophomore infielder Kevin Smith were named to scouting service Perfect Game's preseason All-Big Ten team, with Shawaryn the Pitcher of the Year.

Maryland wrestling match rescheduled: The Terps' match against Wisconsin, which was snowed out Sunday, has been rescheduled for Feb.14 at 11:30 a.m.

Garrett College coach Gibson a Hall of Famer: Lakers coach Dennis Gibson was named to the 2016 class of the National Junior College Athletic Association's Men's Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Gibson, hired as an assistant in 1978 before being named head coach in 1985, has led the two-year program to a 531-296 record over the past 29 seasons.

FBS Lambert results

1. Navy (11-2)

2. Temple (10-4)

3. West Virginia (8-5)

4. Pittsburgh (8-5)

5. Penn State (7-6)

6. Virginia Tech (7-6)

7. Connecticut (6-7)

8. Rutgers (4-8)

9. Syracuse (4-8)

10. Buffalo (5-7)