Notebook: Bryant routs Mount St. Mary's for NEC men's title, 12-6

Mount St. Mary's lost to Bryant, 12-6, in the Northeast Conference men's lacrosse championship game Sunday afternoon at Robert Morris. Andrew Scalley had two goals and two assists to pace the Mount in the loss. The Mount (6-9), the defending NEC champion, was looking for its third consecutive conference title. Mount St. Mary's won the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference title in 2010 before winning the first NEC championship last season. But Bryant (14-4) took control of the game early, scoring six times in the opening 10:25 for a 6-0 lead. Max Weisenberg, Dan Sipperly and Colin Dunster each had two goals in the run. Bryant goalkeeper Jameson Love made five saves en route to tournament Most Valuable Player honors.

No. 19 Yale 15, No. 13 Princeton 7: The Bulldogs (11-4) won their ninth straight game and qualified for the NCAA tournament by beating host the Tigers (11-4) to win the Ivy League championship. Yale got three goals from Deron Dempster and six points from tournament Most Valuable Player Matt Gibson.


Division III men

Dickinson 11, Washington College 6: The Red Devils, ranked 13th, won their second consecutive Centennial Conference championship, defeating the host Shoremen, ranked No. 18. Dickinson (14-3) held Washington (11-5) scoreless for a span of 36:29, building a 7-2 lead with five unanswered goals. Junior attackman Bennett Cord had two goals and one assist to lead the Shoremen.

Honors: Tufts sophomore midfielder Beau Wood (Severn) was named to the All-New England Small College Athletic Conference first team, and Tufts freshman attackman Cole Bailey (Severn) made the second team and was named Rookie of the Year. Amherst senior attackman-midfielder Evan Redwood (Gilman) also made the second team. ... Goucher senior attackmen Rory Averett and Kyle Boncaro, senior midfielder Matt Lynch, junior close defenseman Paul Taylor and junior goalie Connor Mishaw were named to the Landmark Conference first team, as was Susquehanna junior short-stick defensive midfielder Marcus Cheatham (Loyola). Goucher defenseman Bryce Carson and Scranton senior attackman Kyle Frank (Boys' Latin) made the second team. Drew freshman attackman Patrick Lamon (Severn) was named co-Rookie of the Year. ... Albright freshman TJ Holston (Arundel) and Lebanon Valley junior Scott Sutton (Reservoir) were named to the Commonwealth Conference first team; Widener senior Ryan Shewell (Loyola) made the second team.

Division I women

No. 8 Massachusetts 13, Canisius 12: A free-position goal by Jesse O'Donnell with four seconds left in regulation gave the host Minutewomen (19-1) the win and an automatic berth in the NCAA tournament. The Golden Griffins finished their season at 10-9.

No. 11 Dartmouth 6, No. 16 Penn 4: The top-seeded Quakers held a 3-0 lead on their home field in the Ivy League final, but the second-seeded Big Green rallied for a 6-4 victory and their first-ever Ivy title.

Honors: Princeton's Erin McMunn (Winters Mill) won Ivy League Rookie of the Year ... Canisius' Morgan Leonard (Liberty) was selected as Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference co-Defensive Player of the Year. ... Denver's Jill Remenapp (Century) earned the Mountain Pacific's co-Newcomer of the Year. ... UMBC junior defender Jamie Fahey (Loch Raven) was named to the America East first team. Freshman goalkeeper Anna Barnett was named to the second team and rookie team; she shared second-team honors with senior midfielder Alicia Krause (Mount Hebron) and rookie accolades with attacker Abby Wilson (Fallston). ... Maryland's Cathy Reese was named Atlantic Coast Conference Coach of the Year, Towson's Sonia LaMonica was CAA Coach of the Year, Navy's Cindy Timchal was Patriot League Coach of the Year and Northwestern's Kelly Amonte Hiller was ALC Coach of the Year.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun