Lacrosse roundup: Holman, Emala lead UNC to first ACC title since 1996

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

Led by Gilman alumnus Marcus Holman, second-seeded North Carolina won its first Atlantic Coast Conference men's lacrosse tournament since 1996 by outlasting Virginia, 16-13, on Sunday in Chapel Hill.

The Tar Heels held at least a two-goal lead throughout the final 32 minutes in presenting coach Joe Breschi with his 150th career win.


Holman, a senior attackman who was named tournament Most Valuable Player, finished the game with five assists. His school-record 29-game goal-scoring streak ended, but his five points lifted his career total to 207, breaking the school record of 204 set by Bruce Ledwith (1970-1973).

Carolina's Davey Emala (Gilman), a transfer from Georgetown, had a career-high four goals plus an assist, as the second-ranked Tar Heels (12-3) won their ninth straight game and earned their 12th ACC title (eighth since the league began determining its champion via a tournament in 1989).


Virginia (7-8), which had upset top-seeded and fourth-ranked Maryland in the semifinals, ends its season without an NCAA tournament berth for the first time since 2004.

The Cavaliers' Matt White tied an ACC championship single-game-record with seven goals, including five in the second half, and Nick O'Reilly set the championship single-game record for assists with seven.

No. 16 Lehigh 11, No. 18 Bucknell 5: The host Mountain Hawks took a 5-0 lead after one quarter in Bethlehem, Pa., and cruised to their second straight Patriot League title.

Senior David DiMaria had two goals and three assists as Lehigh became the first team since Navy in 2006-2007 to win back-to-back Patriot championships.

Sophomore Matt Poillon stopped 10 of 15 for the Mountain Hawks.

Eastern College Athletic Conference: Second-seeded Loyola will face third-seeded Ohio State in a semifinal at 8 p.m. Thursday in Geneva, N.Y.

Top-seed Denver and fourth-seeded Fairfield will meet at 5 p.m..



No. 17 Loyola 13, No. 16 Connecticut 7: Freshman Molly Wolf (Bryn Mawr) made 11saves as the host Greyhounds (10-7, 6-2 Big East) won on senior day against the Huskies (13-2, 5-2) to secure their fifth straight 10-win season.

Junior Marlee Paton and sophomore Kara Burke (Dulaney) led the Loyola offense with three goals and one assist each.

Senior Cassandra Cursaro and sophomore Annie Thomas (John Carroll) had two goals apiece.

The Greyhounds will be the third seed in the conference tournament and will face host and second-seeded Georgetown in a semifinal Thursday at approximately 8 p.m. Top-seeded Syracuse will face No. 4 seed Connecticut at 5:30 p.m.

Johns Hopkins 11, Ohio State 10: The Blue Jays took their first lead with 27:20 to play in the game and held on to defeat the host Buckeyes.

The Blue Jays (10-6, 2-3) earned the fourth seed in the American Lacrosse Conference tournament, which they will host. Hopkins will play fifth-seeded Ohio State (7-9, 1-4) on Thursday at 4 p.m.


Hopkins used a 6-1 run that bridged halftime to turn a two-goal deficit into a three-goal lead with 20:35 still to play. Ohio State answered with a three-goal burst, but back-to-back Blue Jays goals and a late Buckeyes turnover were the difference for Hopkins. Hopkins was able to control the ball at the center circle, outdrawing Ohio State 18-5.

Hopkins junior Sarah Taylor had her seventh hat trick this season. Junior Taylor D'Amore scored two goals to go with two assists and a game-high seven draws. Freshman Dene' DiMartino and junior Sammy Cermack each notched two goals, while DiMartino also controlled six draws. Senior Cosette Larash (Archbishop Spalding) finished with three saves to earn the win, the 32nd of her career to tie the Hopkins Division I record.

Mary Kate Facchina led the Buckeyes with a game-high five goals. Her sister, Cara, had a game-high four assists.

No. 5 Syracuse 13, No. 7 Georgetown 7: Freshman Kayla Treanor scored a season-high six goals and added an assist as the visiting Orange (14-3, 8-0) beat the Hoyas (12-4, 6-2) to claim its second straight Big East regular-season title and third overall.

Syracuse has won nine straight games and its past 20 Big East regular-season games, dating to 2011.

No. 10 Massachusetts 14, Duquesne 7: The top-seeded Minutewomen (17-2) bridged a nine-goal run over the two halves en route to beating the Dukes (11-7) and earning their record fifth straight Atlantic 10 Conference championship title.


Sam Rush was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player after posting six goals and an assist.