Voelker, Geppi-Aikens, 7 others elected to Hall of Fame

Loyola College women's lacrosse coach Diane Geppi-Aikens watches from the sideline during a game against Maryland on May 9, 2002.
Loyola College women's lacrosse coach Diane Geppi-Aikens watches from the sideline during a game against Maryland on May 9, 2002. (Karl Merton Ferron /)

Diane Geppi-Aikens, the late women's lacrosse coach at what was then Loyola College, and former Johns Hopkins men's player Brian Voelker were among nine people elected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame this week, US Lacrosse announced.

The other inductees are Jake Curran (contributor), Dom Fin (player, Syracuse), Bob Hartranft (coach, Farmingdale, N.Y., High), Julie Hull Elicker (player, James Madison), Charlie Lockwood (player, Syracuse), Sarah Nelson (player, Harvard) and Maggie Vaughan (player, Harvard).


They will be inducted Oct. 24 at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley. Tickets go on sale Aug. 1 at uslacrosse.org/HOF.

Geppi-Aikens attended Parkville, then Loyola and coached the Greyhounds from 1989 to 2003, where she had a record of 197-71. Her teams won seven conference titles and advanced to 10 NCAA tournaments, including seven national semifinal appearances and one NCAA title game. She helped produce 29 All-Americans and was selected as the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association's Division I Coach of the Year in 1996, 1997 and 2003.

In 1995, Geppi-Aikens began having seizures and was diagnosed with brain cancer. She had three surgeries, but in December 2002, her cancer became terminal. Although partially paralyzed, she continued to coach, including coaching her last year from a wheelchair while leading her team to the nation's No. 1 ranking.

A member of the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Committee from 1995 to 1999, Geppi-Aikens also served as the chairwoman of the committee for two years. She received the Tewaaraton Lifetime Recognition Award in 2001 and both the NCAA's Inspiration Award and the ECAC's Award of Valor in 2003, the year she died.

Loyola Maryland established its first endowed scholarship for a female student-athlete in Geppi-Aikens' memory this year. The IWLCA presents the Diane Geppi-Aikens Memorial Award annually.

Voelker, who was a co-captain in 1987 at Gilman School, became a three-time All-American as a Hopkins defenseman, earning third-team status in 1989 and 1990, and first-team honors as a senior in 1991. He was also selected to play in the North-South All-Star Game in 1991. Voelker was co-captain at Hopkins his senior year.

As a professional, he played seven indoor seasons with the Philadelphia Wings, winning three championships, and then played two seasons in Major League Lacrosse, adding a championship with the Long Island Lizards in 2003. He coached the Baltimore Bayhawks to the inaugural MLL championship game in 2001 and also was the team's general manager.

Voelker helped the U.S. national team to the gold medal in 1994 and 1998, was selected to the 1998 All-World team and was chosen as the world's best defenseman after the 1998 World Games. He's now the men's coach at Drexel.

This article was updated to include what years Voelker was co-captain at Gilman and Johns Hopkins.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun