Digest: Ciccarone, Beardmore are among eight to enter men's lacrosse coaches' hall

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

Former JHU men's lacrosse coach Henry Ciccarone Sr.

Henry Ciccarone Sr., Johns Hopkins' coach from 1975 to 1983, and Bud Beardmore, Maryland's coach from 1970 to 1980, will be among eight inductees in the second class of the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association's Hall of Fame.

Former Maryland lacrosse coach Bud Beardmore

They will be honored Dec. 9 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel in conjunction with the annual IMLCA convention.


Ciccarone is among five inductees with ties to Hopkins: Howdy Myers coached Hopkins from 1947 to 1949, Tony Seaman coached the Blue Jays from 1991 to 1998, and Jerry Schmidt and Willie Scroggs played at Hopkins before coaching at other schools. Schmidt also coached at Navy and Seaman at Towson.

Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association

Paul Doherty (Adelphi) and Renzie Lamb (Williams) are the other inductees.


See below for more on the inductees.


Cubs designate ex-Oriole Matusz after one start

Former Orioles left-hander Brian Matusz has been designated for assignment after Sunday's lackluster start with the Chicago Cubs, according to the Chicago Tribune. Matusz, 29, allowed six runs, six hits and two walks in three innings in his first start with the Cubs on Sunday night, when they rallied to defeat the Seattle Mariners, 7-6. Matusz is 27-41 with a 4.92 ERA in 280 major league appearances since making his debut with the Orioles in 2009. The former No. 4 overall draft pick was traded from Baltimore to the Atlanta Braves for two minor league pitchers in May, designated for assignment the next day and released a week later. After signing a minor league deal with the Cubs in mid-June, Matusz posted a 1.53 ERA in five appearances. He was called up from Triple-A Iowa to start Sunday and give the Cubs' starters an extra day of rest.

Jonas Shaffer

Harness racing

Sale of Rosecroft Raceway to Stronach is finalized

Stronach Group said Tuesday that it completed its purchase of Rosecroft Raceway from Penn National Gaming. Stronach said it would begin making improvements over the next 90 days to the Prince George's County harness track, which opened in 1949. Rosecroft, which is open every day for simulcasting, begins its fall season Sept. 13. With the purchase, Stronach adds to a collection of Maryland tracks that includes Pimlico Race Course and Laurel Park. "We appreciate Penn National Gaming working with us to make this acquisition happen in a smooth and timely manner," said Sal Sinatra, general manager for the Maryland tracks. "We're excited about moving forward at Rosecroft. We look forward to expanding our simulcast network, having a presence in the Washington, D.C., market, and growing the harness racing market in the Mid-Atlantic." The sale was approved by the Maryland Racing Commission last month. Penn National bought the track for $10.25 million at a bankruptcy auction in 2011. Terms of this deal were not disclosed.


Jeff Barker

Et cetera

Terps, Mids in AP's all-time college football rankings

The Associated Press has placed Maryland No. 40 and Navy No. 60 in its all-time college football rankings. The rankings are based on a formula that accounts for poll appearances, No. 1 rankings and AP national championships. Ohio State — which has been ranked in the AP poll in 77 seasons — leads the way, followed by Oklahoma, Notre Dame, Alabama and Southern California. Nebraska, Michigan, Texas, Florida State and Florida round out the top 10.

Daniel Gallen, Baltimore Sun Media Group

Women's college basketball: Loyola Maryland's 3.556 GPA was the ninth best of 351 NCAA Division I teams in 2015-16, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association said.


Junior golf: RuQing Guan of China leads the girls division after the first round of the AJGA Junior at Cattail Creek in Glenwood with a 3-under-par 69. Charlotte Simpson of Towson is tied for third at 75. Kevin Paek of Glenview, Ill., leads the boys division with a 3-under 68. Will Koras of Lutherville is tied for 13th with a 73.

National Women's Soccer League: Washington Spirit midfielder Estefania Banini was voted Player of the Month by the NWSL Media Association.