Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award watch list has 47 quarterbacks

Forty-seven quarterbacks from different divisions and conferences across the nation were named Wednesday to the watch list for the 2017 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

The award is presented at the end of each football season and the winner is selected based on his accomplishments both on and off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class.

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award on Tuesday and will be honored Friday in Baltimore.

This year is the 30th anniversary of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

The watch list:

  • Austin Allen, Arkansas
  • Kyle Allen, Houston
  • J. T. Barrett, Ohio State
  • Kurt Berkert, Virginia
  • David Blough, Purdue
  • Ahmad Bradshaw, Army
  • Max Browne, Pittsburgh
  • Christian Chapman, San Diego State
  • Keller Chryst, Stanford
  • Brandon Dawkins, Troy
  • Jason Driskel, Florida Atlantic
  • Jesse Ertz, Kansas State
  • Danny Etling, LSU
  • Luke Falk, Washington State
  • Riley Ferguson, Memphis
  • Ryan Finley, NC State
  • Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State
  • Quinton Flowers, South Florida
  • Andrew Ford, UMass
  • Justice Hansen, Arkansas State
  • Brandon Harris, North Carolina
  • Kenny Hill, TCU
  • Stephen Johnson, Kentucky
  • Taylor Lamb, Appalachian State
  • Richard Lagow, Indiana
  • Tanner Lee, Nebraska
  • Matt Linehan, Idaho
  • Connor Manning, Georgia State
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
  • Trace McSorley, Penn State
  • Ryan Metz, Univ. of Texas El Paso
  • Hayden Moore, Cincinnati
  • Kent Myers, Utah State
  • Josh Rosen, Alabama
  • Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State
  • Nic Shimonek, Texas Tech
  • Bryant Shirreffs, UConn
  • Brandon Silvers, Troy
  • Wilton Speight, Michigan
  • Nick Stevens, Colorado State
  • Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee
  • Dalton Sturm, Univ. of Texas San Antonio
  • Clayton Thorson, Northwestern
  • Mike White, Western Kentucky
  • Troy Williams, Utah
  • Logan Woodside, Toledo
  • Darius Wade, Boston College
The award is presented annually to the top fourth- or fifth-year quarterback in the nation.

The Golden Arm Award committee will announce the top 15 finalists in September. The 30th anniversary presentation of the award will be held Dec. 8 at the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & Grand.

"The Golden Arm Award values character, citizenship, integrity, leadership, and sportsmanship – characteristics that were displayed by my father. These attributes were every bit as important as the quarterback's completion rate or the number of touchdowns scored," said John C. Unitas, Jr., president of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation. "Despite his many accolades, my dad never forgot his humble beginnings and that won him a permanent place in the hearts of everyone who ever knew him."

Johnny Unitas played at Louisville before joining the Colts in 1958. He completed 2,830 passes for 40,239 yards and 290 touchdowns, and threw a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games during his Pro Football Hall of Fame career.

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, the Heisman Trophy favorite, has been named the winner of the 2014 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Proceeds from the event help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, which provides financial assistance to underprivileged and deserving young scholar-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

Previous winners include Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (Southern California, 2002); Eli Manning (Mississippi, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) and Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015).

To learn more about the Golden Arm Award, go to Golden Arm Foundation or Golden Arm Award. Follow the conversation throughout the season on Twitter @GoldenArmAward or use the hashtag, #GoldenArmAward.