Choose a nominee:

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck is the winner of the 2011 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given to the top fourth- or fifth-year signal-caller in college football.

"Andrew personifies everything that my father stood for. He is not simply an outstanding quarterback, but an outstanding individual, a leader both on and off the field," said John C. Unitas, Jr., President of The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.


Luck, who passed for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns for a 167.5 passer rating in leading fourth-ranked Stanford to an 11-1 record, will be presented the award Friday at the Intercontinental Harbor Court downtown.

In Luck's 37 career starts, Stanford compiled a 31-6 record (.838), the second highest winning percentage among active FBS quarterbacks. He quarterbacked the Cardinal to back-to-back seasons of at least 11 wins for the first time in school history, and now ranks first on Stanford's all-time career list for touchdown passes (80), total offense (10,043 yards), and completion percentage (.664). He carries a 3.48 GPA as an architectural design major and recently was selected to the Pac-12 Conference's All-Academic First Team.

"Andrew joins a long line of quarterbacks who embody the characteristics that made Johnny Unitas an enduring legend, including many who have gone on to illustrious careers in the NFL," Unitas said.

Former winners include Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006), Matt Leinart (USC, 2005), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), and Rodney Peete (USC, 1988).

Other finalists for the 2011 Golden Arm Award were: Robert Griffin, III, Baylor; Landry Jones, Oklahoma; Kellen Moore, Boise State; and Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State.

Among those expected to be on hand for this year's Golden Arm Award ceremony include NFL Hall of Famers and former Baltimore Colts Raymond Berry and Art Donovan. Former Colt Joe Ehrmann will deliver remarks during the award event.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun