Alabama QB A.J. McCarron named 2013 winner of Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron was named Monday morning as the winner of the 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the top college quarterback in the nation.

McCarron led the No. 4 Crimson Tide to an 11-1 record, completing 67.6 percent of his passes for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns. He has a 34-2 record (.943) as a starter at Alabama and holds school records for touchdown passes in a season (30 in 2012), and had a streak of 291 pass attempts without throwing an interception (the second-longest streak in SEC history).

A finalist for last year’s Golden Arm Award, McCarron was selected from an original field of 30. Other finalists for the 2013 award included Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Derek Carr (Fresno State), Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

The Golden Arm Award has previously been presented to Peyton Manning, Carson Palmer, Eli Manning, Matt Ryan, and Andrew Luck, among others. Last year’s winner was Kansas State’s Collin Klein.

McCarron will receive the award Friday at the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad