Walters' 8 points not enough for Bayhawks in 16-14 loss to Machine


Walters' 8 points not enough for Bayhawks

Midfielder Joe Walters (Maryland) had four goals and four assists for the second straight game, but the Chesapeake Bayhawks lost, 16-14, to the host Ohio Machine on Friday. Midfielder Ben Hunt (Severna Park) added two goals and two assists for last-place Chesapeake (3-7), which committed 21 turnovers and is in last place in Major League Lacrosse. "I thought we gave one away. We gave it away on both ends of the field," Bayhawks coach Dave Cottle said. "We turned the ball over too much on offense. On defense, we would play well for a period then let down and give up some easy goals. We just made too many mental mistakes to win a close game." Attackmen Drew Westervelt (UMBC) and Brandon Benn (Johns Hopkins) each scored two goals for Chesapeake. Goalie Tyler Fiorito (McDonogh) finished with 11 saves, and faceoff specialist Stephen Robarge won 16 of 31 draws for the Bayhawks, who will have a week off before returning home for a July 17 meeting with the Rochester Rattlers. Chesapeake must win its remaining four games to finish with a .500 winning percentage. Attackman Marcus Holman (Gilman) had three goals to lead Ohio (4-6), which swept the season series against the two-time defending champion Bayhawks, and goalie Brian Phipps (Maryland) had 12 saves for the Machine. Midfielder Bill McGlone (Maryland) had a goal and an assist as the Machine grabbed a 4-0 lead just five minutes into the game, but Chesapeake roared back, outscoring the home team 4-1 to close the quarter and cut the deficit to 5-4. Walters sparked the rally with two goals and an assist. The Bayhawks continued to surge in the second quarter, using a 4-1 run to take an 8-6 lead, but Ohio responded with back-to-back unassisted goals. Short-stick defensive midfielder Dan Burns (Maryland) scored to give Chesapeake a 9-8 lead at halftime. Holman opened the second half with a 2-point goal to put the Machine on top by one, but the Bayhawks responded with three straight goals to go up 12-10. Ohio trailed 12-10 late in the third quarter before midfielder Jake Bernhardt (Maryland) cut the deficit to one. Holman opened the fourth with a goal to tie the game. With the game tied at 14, Bernhardt and Holman scored the last two goals that sealed the victory.

FIL: Forward John Grant Jr. will not play for Canada in the Federation of International Lacrosse World Lacrosse Championships after his application for a therapeutic use exemption, which would have allowed him to play in the tournament while on the medication, was denied by the FILx TUE Committee. Grant, a three-time MLL Most Valuable Player and two-time National Lacrosse League MVP, suffers from a medical condition that requires prescription medication as a part of hormone therapy (testosterone). His condition arises from concussions suffered during his playing career and a staph infection that nearly took his life. Grant, a former Bayhawk, will join coach Randy Mearns' staff on the sideline as Canada tries to win its third world championship in the tournament, which begins next week in Denver. Canada takes on the United States in the opening game on Thursday.

Inside Lacrosse

Men's soccer

Champions League schedule set for D.C. United

D.C. United will open the 2014-15 CONCACAF Champions League on Aug. 20 at RFK Stadium against Waterhouse F.C. of Jamaica as part of the schedule for the competition announced by CONCACAF. United was drawn into Group 4 with Waterhouse and Tauro F.C. of Panama. United plays against Waterhouse on Sept. 16 in Kingston, Jamaica, before a pair of meetings with Tauro, the first of which will take place Sept. 24 at RFK Stadium. United will finish group play in Panama City, Panama, on Oct. 21. For home group stage matches, tickets will go on sale July 22, at 10 a.m. for $15 each or $25 if purchasing both home matches. Tickets for all United plan holders will be $10 per match.

Et cetera

Parkville's Anderson wins Arbutus Firecracker 10K

Archbishop Curley graduate Erik Anderson, 25, was the male winner of the 32nd annual Arbutus Firecracker 10K at Arbutus Middle School. The Parkville resident finished the race in 33 minutes, 14.8 seconds. Jon Luckin (UMBC) finished second in 33:43.4, and Catonsville resident Andrew Madison was third in 34:43.9. The female winner was Julia Roman-Duval, 31, who crossed the line in 36:57.0; Tenke Zoltani (Dulaney) and Megan DiGregorio (Perry Hall) were second and third, respectively. Zoltani finished in 37:24.6, and DiGregorio had a time of 39:35.9. The race had 466 finishers.

NHL: The Washington Capitals have signed forwards Tim Kennedy and Kris Newbury to one-year, two-way contracts. Brian MacLellan Kennedy, 28, played 37 games with the Phoenix Coyotes and 30 games with the Portland Pirates of the American Hockey League in the 2013-14 season. Newbury, 32, appeared in four games with the Philadelphia Flyers and 17 games with the AHL Hershey Bears last season.

More NHL: The Capitals will host their annual Prospect Development Camp from Monday through next Saturday at Kettler Capitals Iceplex in Arlington, Va. All on-ice sessions, including the three intrasquad games, are free and open to the public. The full roster of players, including invited players, will be available on the first day of camp.

College baseball: Maryland promoted Jim Belanger to associate head coach and Rob Vaughn to assistant head coach.

Boxing: Welterweight Tori "Sho Nuff" Nelson retained her Women's International Boxing Association title with a 10-round decision over Nicole Woods last Saturday night at Du Burns Arena. Light heavyweight Frankie "Freight Train" Filippone steamrollered Willie "For Real" Williams of Baltimore in less than a round. Tyriesha "Lady Tyga" Douglas of Baltimore passed her toughest test to date, outpointing Cristina Fuentes in six rounds. Middleweight Demond "Dbestatit" Nicholson of Laurel stopped Lester Gonzalez in 2 minutes, 14 seconds. In other bouts, Seth Billups earned a decision over Benjamin Olinga, Travis Reeves topped Lamont Capers, and Jeremy Trussell drew with David Rohn.


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad