Kansas State's Collin Klein wins 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Kansas State University’s Collin Klein has been named recipient of t he 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.  The award is presented annually to a top college football quarterback who best combines on-the-field and academic achievement.  Candidates for the award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class.

“Collin is not just a tremendous athlete and leader on the field, but an MVP off the field as well, who repeatedly has been recognized for his numerous contributions to the community and to the spirit of sportsmanship,” said John C. Unitas, Jr., President of The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, which along with Transamerica presents the award.

Klein threw for 2,490 yards, rushed for 890 yards and scored 37 touchdowns while leading the Wildcats to an 11-1 record and 5th place in the BCS standings.  The team will play No. 4 Oregon in the Fiesta Bowl on January 3.

Klein was one of 29 candidates for the Golden Arm Award when the season began.  Other finalists for the 2012 award were Matt Barkley of USC, EJ Manuel of Florida State, AJ McCarron of Alabama, and Geno Smith of West Virginia.

Past winners of the Golden Arm Award include current NFL starting quarterbacks Peyton and Eli Manning, Carson Palmer, Brady Quinn and Matt Ryan.  Last year’s winner was Andrew Luck of Stanford, now the starting quarterback for the Indianapolis Colts.

Klein and his coach, Bill Snyder, will be in Baltimore on Friday, December 7, for the 6 p.m. presentation of the award at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad