Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Concussion could bench Navy's Dobbs vs. Central Michigan

Navy quarterback Ricky Dobbs hasn't practiced this week, leaving the senior's availability for Saturday's game against Central Michigan in doubt one week after he reportedly suffered a minor concussion resulting from a light blow to the head early in a 76-35 victory over East Carolina.

Dobbs played into the fourth quarter against the Pirates, rushing for 100 yards and one touchdown and passing for 75yards and two touchdowns, before yielding to backup Kriss Proctor, who would start if the coaching staff decides to hold out the academy's all-time leader in touchdowns.

"We're probably leaning a little more toward Proctor," coach Ken Niumatalolo said. "We'll kind of see. At this point I'm thinking if [Dobbs] does play, it might be in a reserve role."

Dobbs has started every game this season despite having suffered an ankle injury in the season opener against Maryland. He has played in 15 consecutive games dating back to last season, when he sat out against Wake Forest on Oct. 24 because of a cracked right kneecap. Dobbs then played in extremely limited capacity the following week against Temple. Proctor was the starter in both of those games.

Against East Carolina, Proctor rushed for 78 yards and two touchdowns in relief of Dobbs. Proctor also spelled Dobbs against Louisiana Tech this season, rushing for 24 yards and a touchdown on six carries in a 37-23 victory in Ruston, La.

"Nothing changes," said Proctor, who took snaps with the first-team offense while Dobbs was on the mend. "Come out here and work hard, no matter what. That's kind of my motto. That's our team motto."

Gene Wang, The Washington Post

More football: Saint Augustine's junior running back Walter Sanders (Mervo) was named Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Player of the Year. Sanders leads the conference in rushing with 137.7 yards per game, 15 touchdowns and 1,377 yards on 277 carries. He's tied for second in scoring with 90 points and is second in all-purpose yards with 1,461.

He was joined on the All-CIAA first team by Saint Augustine's senior offensive lineman Justin Wells (Poly). The second team included two senior defensive backs from Bowie State, Terence Peete Jr. and Sterling Grant-Jones (Edmondson).

Men's basketball: Towson signed 6-foot point guard Kris Walden of Henrico High in Richmond, Va., to a letter of intent. Walden is averaging 11.2 points per game going into his senior year. The Warriors are 33-19 with him in the lineup. …

Mount St. Mary's signed 6-10 center Taylor Danaher of Fredericksburg (Va.) Christian School to a letter of intent. Danaher averaged 24 points, 14 rebounds and six blocks per game as a junior while playing in the Central Virginia Home-school Athletic Association. …

Freshman guard Brandon Belt (Arundel) scored a game-high 23 points and sophomore forward Mike Henry (Owings Mills) had 17 points and 15 rebounds to help host Baltimore City Community College (2-1) earn a 102-80 victory over Montgomery College-Germantown (1-2) on Wednesday night.

Men's soccer: Loyola senior forward Phil Bannister and sophomore defender Gerwyn Jones were named to the All-Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference first team. Senior midfielders Eddie Dines and Glenn Leitch made the second team, and freshman defender Jamie Libby and freshman forward Stephen Dooley were selected to the rookie team. …

Towson senior midfielder Marco Mangione (Calvert Hall) was named to the All-Colonial Athletic Association first team. Tigers freshman forward Olakunle Banjo made the second team and rookie team. …

Mount St. Mary's junior forward Chris Wheeler and senior midfielder Eric Detzel were named to the All-Northeast Conference first team. …

Navy senior Alex Foskett and junior Sam Miller made the All-Patriot League academic team.

Field hockey: Cornell freshman forward Hannah Balleza (Severna Park) was named Ivy League Co-Rookie of the Year, the first Big Red player to earn the distinction since 1994. …

Johns Hopkins senior midfielder Ariana Branchini, junior defender Amy Wharton and junior goalie Kim Stein were named to the All-Centennial Conference first team. Blue Jays junior forward Carly Bianco and McDaniel senior defender Stephanie Hammond (Hereford) made the second team. …

Three players from Salisbury, ranked seventh in Division III, were named to the All-Capital Athletic Conference first team: senior midfielder Kandice Hancock, junior back Tara McGovern and sophomore forward Erica Henderson. The first team also included St. Mary's sophomore forward Lauriann Parker (Glenelg), St.Mary's sophomore midfielder Natalie Hackstaff, St. Mary's senior back Allie Skiest (Seton Keough) and Stevenson junior goalie Kara Zimmerman (Arundel). The second team included four players from Salisbury — junior forward Caitlin Walker (Fallston), senior midfielder Katie Fost, senior back Ashley Kisner and junior goalie Anna Cooke — and Stevenson senior back Natalie DiPaolo (Perry Hall).

Men's cross country: Salisbury senior Chris Barnard was named Capital Athletic Conference Athlete of the Year. His teammate, Ryan Jackson (Reservoir), was Rookie of the Year, and the Sea Gulls' Jim Jones was Coach of the Year. The All-CAC first team included Barnard, Jackson, Salisbury junior Trent Seawell (Calvert Hall) and Salisbury junior Stephen Berstler. The second team included York sophomore Steve Childres (Mount St. Joseph), Salisbury junior John Fitzgerald Jr. (Calvert Hall), Salisbury junior Matt Hallenbeck Jr., Hood freshman Daniel Jacobs, Salisbury junior Trevor Keen Jr. (Archbishop Spalding) and Salisbury junior David Toller Jr. (Oakland Mills).

Women's cross country: The All-CAC first team included Frostburg State junior Anne Patron (Dulaney), Salisbury freshman Amy Ferro, Salisbury junior Becca Stinner and Salisbury senior Kristin Stromberg. The second team included Salisbury freshman Emma Bahneman, Frostburg State senior Jessica O'Neil, Salisbury junior Emily Powell (South Carroll), Salisbury freshman Andrea Schwientech (Patterson Mill) and Salisbury sophomore Anna Steinman. Salisbury's Jim Jones was Coach of the Year.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad