Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

No winner for 2005 Heisman

The Heisman Trophy Reggie Bush gave up won't be going to another player, award organizers announced Wednesday.

"As a result of Reggie Bush's decision to forfeit his title as Heisman winner of 2005, the Trustees have determined that there will be no Heisman Trophy winner for the year 2005," the Heisman Trust said in a statement

Texas coach Mack Brown had been championing the idea of the award going to former Longhorns quarterback Vince Young, who finished second in the balloting.

• Alabama running back Mark Ingram will return Saturday against Duke. Last year's Heisman winner missed Alabama's first two games recovering from knee surgery. … South Carolina tight end Weslye Saunders was dismissed from the team. The senior had been suspended indefinitely by coach Steve Spurrier on Aug. 23 for a violation of team rules. … Pittsburgh running back Jason Douglas was suspended indefinitely after being charged with DUI. Douglas hit a pedestrian and fled the scene.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad